RSS

Sourdough Pizza Crusts

22 Apr

The sourdough battle continues. I am now onto my fourth sourdough starter in just over a month and a half. My starters get to about 10 – 14 days and dies. My current starter *seems* to be ok, so I decided to experiment. Using this Sue Lau recipe as a guide, I made some delightful sourdough pizzas. The crusts were light, thin and crispy and I will definitely be using this recipe again.

[  SERVES: 3  |  TIME: 120 MIN  |  COST: <$4  ]
[  JOES’ RATING: 5/5  |  MY RATING:  4/5 |  Brittanys’ RATING:  4/5]

Crust Ingredients

1 cup organic flour
1 cup sourdough starter
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 teaspoon salt

Method

  1. In a bowl, mix all the crust ingredients together. If the dough is too moist / too dry, add more flour / starter as needed. Knead lightly and allow to rest for 30 minutes.
  2. Turn oven (and / or preheat pizza stone) to the hottest setting to start its preheat.
  3. After resting, work the dough for 15 minutes. Once it is quite elastic, divide it into thirds and allow it to rest for a further 30 minutes.
  4. Sprinkle flour on your counter top / work bench and use a rolling-pin to shape the dough. Turning it a quarter turn each roll will help give it a round shape.
  5. Prick the base with a fork several times and bake on a pizza stone or pizza tray for four to five minutes.
  6. Top your pizza with your favourite ingredients and bake for an additional five minutes.
  7. Enjoy while hot!

This was my pizza. It was topped with a drizzle of olive oil, roast garlic smeared into the oil and base, caramalised pumpkins as described above, crumbled Nimbin Valley Dairys Lemon Billy goats cheese, torn baby bocconcini, freshly chopped chives, thyme, salt and pepper. Sometimes, the simple flavours win the day.

Observations

  • It’s important to note that this dough will not raise much (if at all). The resting and kneading allows the dough to be workable and elastic, but does not encourage much of a rise.
  • If you would like to make roast pumpkin, garlic and sweet potato like I have here, prepare the roasted vegetables ahead of time. Cut the vegetables into bite size pieces. Skin the garlic but leave the cloves whole. Place the vegetables and garlic into an oven tray and sprinkle with olive oil, cinnamon, salt and pepper to taste. Mix well and bake in a moderate oven for 30 minutes, until caramelised. (The cinnamon gives roast vegetables such as pumpkin and sweet potato a delightful flavour and enhances their natural sweetness).
  • I departed from the original recipe in several places. In my version, I gave the dough an extra knead. This activated the gluten in the dough and made it much more pliable. This dough had a beautiful texture and was very easy to work with.
  • We enjoy thin pizzas. If you enjoy a thicker base, double the crust ingredients quoted.
  • Diabetic Note: My blood glucose levels were slightly elevated after this meal, but that was to be expected. Be mindful of your serving size and limit your cheese (my pizza is the one above and has a reduced amount of cheese). I also opted to avoid sauces which are high in sugar.
  • Ethical Note: I used my sourdough starter for this. To feed sourdough, half of the mixture is discarded each time. That half can be used for things such as this. Reduce your waste, support local produce, live long and prosper! (ok, well, only if you are a vulcan….)

This was Joe's pizza. The base was layered with tomato and garlic pizza sauce, garlic flakes, sliced chorizo sausage, roasted butternut pumpkin and sweet potato, whole roasted garlic, torn baby bocconcini, generous amounts of grated light tasty cheese, oregano, basil, chilli flakes, chives and salt and pepper to taste.

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

26 responses to “Sourdough Pizza Crusts

  1. narf77

    April 22, 2012 at 10:52 am

    Lol…my trekie daughers will love this recipe then! I am just about to send off my USA $1 note (my ex brought it back for my daughters when he was road testing an internet girlfriend) to buy some dried 150 year old sourdough starter online. It’s got a really interesting story and should I manage to first get it, second get it to grow happily here, I have a word doc in one of my folders with how to dry sourdough starter to extend its life. I will send you some! Love the look of that pizza by the way. I love roasted pumpkin and roast garlic is heavenly. Keep these drool worthy posts coming :)

     
    • mizrhi

      April 22, 2012 at 12:49 pm

      In about two weeks, a recipe will come out that you will just go ape for then… roasted garlic and pumpkin soup! (is really good… just sayin)

      Quite interested in the sourdough. Keep me informed! (Wonder if they would accept a $1 coin from Australia – its worth more than their green back.)

       
      • narf77

        April 22, 2012 at 2:07 pm

        Lol…the way their money is going our $1 coin would be worth twice theirs! I have 2 of those $1 notes (the ex was generous lol) so if it works, and you would like to get some yourself you can have one of them. There’s only so much sourdough starter a girl can use! This is from an elderly gentleman who had kept the starter going and gave it away free to people. After he died the people that he had given it to decided to keep doing the same thing and so they don’t charge for the starter, they only charge postage. A lovely idea and it would be nice to keep an alternate colony of it going over here in case something happened to it there.

         
        • mizrhi

          April 22, 2012 at 3:19 pm

          that is a really gorgeous concept. Id love to give it a bash. See how yours goes first :)

           
      • narf77

        April 22, 2012 at 2:09 pm

        By the way…I am having a Homer Simpson moment thinking about that soup…I LOVE pumpkin soup and if you pair it with garlic it would be heavenly. I love garlic and eat an incredible amount of it. Maybe that is why I can part a crowd at 10 paces?! And I thought it was my comanding presence! Love the pic by the way. Keep them coming :)

         
        • mizrhi

          April 22, 2012 at 3:19 pm

          You will love it when you read about it. SO simple yet so delicious. A whole butternut pumpkin and a whole head of garlic. o m g you will have 30 pace head start now!

           
  2. Trèsors De Luxe

    April 22, 2012 at 4:45 pm

    Sourdough pizza crust…omg, we’re on love. Never even entered our minds, genius!
    We’ll certainly be giving this a try, Mizrhi. Thank you, Trèsors De Luxe :)

     
    • mizrhi

      April 22, 2012 at 5:54 pm

      =)

      Its totally delicious. I actually made that two weeks ago, and we had it again today. Today I sautéed some zucchini, eggplant, capsicums, almond slivers, garlic, sultanas in a pan with some oil and some gran masala. It was a delicious pie topping with some olives and feta!

      (my posts are in a queue that gets released daily so I tend to always have about two weeks worth of stuff in the queue so if I need to go on holidays, posts still come out!)

      I am glad you enjoyed the post :)

       
  3. debbrunson

    April 23, 2012 at 3:21 am

    Light, thin and crispy sounds like a perfect crust to me! WIll have to try this one :) Lovely pics and post!

     
    • mizrhi

      April 23, 2012 at 6:44 am

      Cheers Deb! :)

       
  4. Ragamuffin Diaries

    April 26, 2012 at 2:37 am

    delicious!!!! we tried sourdough pizza crust a while back and loved it to; such yummy flavor!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers

