RSS

Spiced Pumpkin Soup

08 Jun

I do love it when friends visit. I love it even more when they come bearing gifts! A friend just dropped a pumpkin in to me and in this chilly weather, all I could think of was soup!

[  SERVES: 6  |  TIME: 40 MINUTES  |  COST: $3  ]
[  JOES’ RATING:  4  / 5  |  MY RATING:  4  / 5 ]

Ingredients

1 litre vegetable stock
3 cups diced pumpkin
2 cups diced potato
1 onion
½ – 1 teaspoon paprika
½ – 1 teaspoon ground cummin
½ – 1 teaspoon ground coriander
salt and cayenne pepper to taste

Method

  1. Cut the pumpkin and potato into bite size chunks. Dice the onion finely.
  2. In a large pot, saute the onion with the garlic until translucent and fragrant.
  3. Add the potato, pumpkin and spices to the pot and stir well to coat. Cover with stock and cook until tender.
  4. Using a blender, stick mixer or a masher, pure the soup. If it is too thick, add a little more stock as required.
  5. Season and serve hot with freshly grated parsley as garnish.

Observations

  • I have to admit that I am not a fan of boring pumpkin soup but this addition of spices really jazzed it up for my taste buds.
  • I have left a large variation for the spice usage depending on your tastes. Use your own discretion.
  • Diabetic Note: I used potatoes in this dish to introduce some carbohydrate content. If you would rather, cut back on the potatoes and have it with some hot crusty bread.
  • Ethical Note: This pumpkin was growing wild from my friends compost pile. Using backyard compost is better for your soils compositions and is a wonderful nutrient source for your own gardens. Ornamental gardens are nice, but consider a ground cover vegetable like pumpkin as a wonderful feature for your yard!
  • Note to self: I must remember to wipe down the bowl before I take photos. Excuse my messy photos!  =s

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Spiced Pumpkin Soup

  1. Three Well Beings

    June 9, 2012 at 4:01 pm

    This sounds just wonderful! I notice that you often use pumpkin and I really like that! I love pumpkin, and for some reason I rarely think of it and don’t cook with it. Your recipes have really inspired me to be a bit bolder in its use. It’s so nutritionally rich! :-) Debra

     
    • Rhianna

      June 10, 2012 at 3:08 pm

      they are so simple to use and add a delicious rich sweetness to just about any dish. I *love* butternut pumpkins the most, but Ill eat any. (I think Americans call butternet pumpkins squash pumpkins for reference.)

       
  2. narf77

    June 15, 2012 at 9:46 pm

    I love pumpkin! This is going to be a weekend meal for sure this weekend. Cheers for that Rhianna :)

     
    • Rhianna

      June 15, 2012 at 10:11 pm

      I bump the spices up alittle for us personally cause I love it spicy. this is the standard *softer* version :)

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers

