RSS

Banana Muffins

09 Jun

This is a little bit of an experiment so I was weary of the results. To my astonishment, what results is nothing short of bananary goodness.

[ Makes: 12  |  TIME: 30 MINUTES  |  COST: $2  ]
[  JOES' RATING:  4  / 5  |  MY RATING:  3.5  / 5 ]

Ingredients

3 ripe bananas
1 cup sourdough starter
½ cup wholemeal flour
½ cup chocolate chips
1 free ranged egg
1 tablespoon chia seed
1 tablespoon agave
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon stevia

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180°C.
  2. Mash the bananas with a fork until smooth. Add the egg, stevia, agave and starter and mix gently.
  3. Add the wholemeal flour, baking soda and chia seeds and mix gently.
  4. Stir through the choc chips.
  5. Fill your muffin trays or liners until ¾ full.
  6. Bake in a moderate oven for 18 minutes.

Observations

  • It is really important not to over work the batter. A gentle hand is needed for lighter, fluffier muffins.
  • If you are after a more refined, fluffier texture, use white flour instead of wholemeal. Wholemeal gives you a much denser body.
  • If you are not a convert to the joys of agave, just use ordinary honey.
  • When baking, put a bowl of water in the oven so it is moist with steam. This will stop your muffins from drying out.
  • There is a fine line with this recipe between deliciously moist to overcooked and dry. Test it with a knife tip or a skewer from 15 minutes and adjust cooking time to suit your oven. I found the 17 minute mark to be ideal for me.
  • Originally, I used 2 tablespoons of chia bit it sort of over dominated the other flavours. In this case, more is not always best.
  • The choc chip and banana combination was made of winning!
  • Diabetic Note: Agave is the nectar of a cactus and has a lower glycemic index than other sweeteners such as refined sugar and honey. I use it when I can’t use stevia which had no effect on my blood glucose levels. Agave is also a strong choice for vegans who don’t eat honey. It is also 1.5 times sweeter than honey, so is used sparingly. Just as well, really, because it is expensive!
  • Ethical Note: I used way over ripe bananas in this instead of throwing them away. YAY for reduced waste!
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Banana Muffins

  1. narf77

    June 11, 2012 at 8:10 am

    Hi Rhianna I was just nominated for an award. I don’t usually participate in that sort of thing but I realised that it was actually a vehicle to give kudos to blogs that were very important to me so I nominated your blog for “The Illuminating Blogger” award. If you want to participate you can, if you don’t feel free not to. I just wanted you to know that you have made a difference out here in the worldly ether and that someone waits for your posts with anticipation and truly appreciates your efforts to enlighten us . Here’s the link if you want to check it out but its not really about the award (which I suspect is to increase blog traffic to the awarders site to be honest…) its about being able to give you some kudos for your efforts

    (http://foodstoriesblog.com/illuminating-blogger-award/).

     
    • Rhianna

      June 11, 2012 at 8:44 am

      thank you so much Fran! I just read your post in my news feed and was all tickled pink cause its my first blogging award :) Thank you so much :)

       
  2. Virgil Stanaland

    June 11, 2012 at 8:22 pm

    You are a very capable person!

     
    • Rhianna

      June 12, 2012 at 2:19 pm

      What a lovely thing to say. Cheers!

       
  3. Ragamuffin Diaries

    June 12, 2012 at 2:27 am

    looks like we were on the same page this last week! I made sourdough banana bread & loved it…. These look delicious! I need to get some stevia…..

     
    • Rhianna

      June 12, 2012 at 7:36 am

      I wouldn’t bother buying stevia unless you are wanting to cut sugars from your diet. Stevia is a natural plant extract that is not a sugar but is 10x sweeter than sugar. I use it cause I don’t want sugars elevating my blood glucose levels as I am diabetic. You *can* use sugar – be guided by sweetness of batter for the right amount.

      The post announcing your award should be out in two hours time. Once again, Congrats :) Ive really enjoyed your blog :)

       
  4. Three Well Beings

    June 12, 2012 at 8:50 am

    Bananary goodness! I smiled at that…very nice term! I learn so much from you, Rhianna. I do use agave as a sweetener but not when I’m following a recipe. I didn’t know the sweetness differential between agave and honey. And it seems to basic, but I think it’s such a good tip to include a pan of water in the oven for moistness! I will do that next time. I’ll have these made sometime this week for certain! Such a good recipe. Debra

     
    • Rhianna

      June 12, 2012 at 2:36 pm

      Good morning, Debra!

      Agave : Honey ratio is about 1:1 – reported
      Stevia : Sugar ratio is about 1:10 – reported
      Xylitol : Sugar ratio is about 1:1.5 – reported
      Agave : Sugar ratio to be around 1:3 – guessed

      Agave is too expensive here to use as a sugar substitute but I do use it lightly at times for flavouring.

      Benefits of each are as follows:
      Sugar – High GI, natural, highly processed and high GI / impacts on Blood Glucose Levels
      Stevia – Low GI, natural plant extract that has NIL effect on Blood Glucose Levels
      Xylitol – Low GI, artificial organic compound, low impacts / delayed impact to Blood Glucose Levels
      Agave – Low to medium GI, natural neacture of cactus, medium impacts / delayed impact to Blood Glucose Levels

      I really must write a post about sugars and sugar substitutes sometime soon. I no longer use regular sugar, raw or otherwise. I stick with stevia, xylitol or agave. Each have their place as demonstrated above.

      I made them again yesterday but this time left the chia seed out entirely. They were delightful. The chia seed is really a personal option so dont stress about it. (Although, a very healthy personal option!)

       
      • Rhianna

        June 12, 2012 at 2:38 pm

        I should explain that everything I say is my understanding of the situation. I am not a dietitian and may not be totally accurate.

         

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers

