RSS

Mexican Del Rio

08 Feb

Tonight we dined at Mexican Del Rio to celebrate Matt’s birthday. This is one of our favourite restaurants and we tend to dine here once a year. The food, drinks and service is generally excellent and tonight was no exception. The host / owner / manager is charming, witty and has a great sense of humour. His friendly disposition will put any guest at ease.

For pre dinner drinks, Joe ordered a iced chocolate (photo below, top left) while I indulged in a strawberry margaritas (photo below, bottom left). Our dining companions ordered a variety of drinks from the classical Corona beers to vodka and orange and the house speciality, Sangria (photo below, centre left). Judging from the reports of our fellow diners, the Sangria did not disappoint and a second litre of this traditional drink was ordered.

For an entree, Joe and I decided to try the Tostadas (above right). What an experience! A crispy tortilla is stacked with beans, lettuce, salsa and jack cheese, served on a bed of brown rice. The soft textured cheese is a low lactose cheese that is imported from South Australia. It lends its smooth flavour beautifully to the species of the salsa that hide the smooth bean mix beneath. The crunchy tortilla at the bottom was, to me, an absolute delightful unexpected texture surprise. I have not had this dish before, but I ensure you, dear readers, I will be having it again! And soon!!

For a main, I was hard pressed to overlook one of the house special “combo meals”. I chose a combo #4 for my meal which consisted of some taquitos (photo below, left on the plate), a chicken enchilada (centre on the plate), a chicken taco topped with Jack cheese (right on the plate) served on a bed of the house special rice. While the entire dish was delicious, I was delighted yet again with the surprise crunch of the taquitos (left of plate) – a small tortilla filled with chicken and deep fried to a crunchy perfection. What an epic meal! My meal was cooked to perfectly, was beautifully presented, served piping hot and was excellent value for money at only $22!

Diabetic note: I was really surprised to discover my bloods had responded to this meal as if it was within the carb limit of 2 – 3 exchanges (30g – 45g carbohydrates). I spoke to the owner manager of the restaurant who informed me that there is no sugar added to the production process of mains, the jack cheese is low fat / low lactose and the oil used for producing the means is limited due to the cooking methods. While it seems a little hard to believe, my blood glucose levels tend to confirm the owners story. I should note, however, that I did not eat the rice on my plate, as I was not only full, but concerned about bumping my BGL too high. I didn’t believe him when he told me it was “healthy”, but it seems to be the case. Well done, Del Rio!

If you are in Ballina, and are interested in an awesome eating experience, check out Mexican Del Rio located at 196 River Street, Ballina. The restaurant is very popular with locals. Bookings are essential, and booking early for functions is advisable to avoid disappointment. Ph: 02 6686 2775

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 8, 2012 in Food: Diabetic Friendly

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
