RSS

Open Vegetable Tart

15 Feb

Last week, for No Meat Monday (which was postponed til Tuesday) I made this delightful dish. I am pretty sure I haven’t blogged it yet, so here it is… Open Vegetable Tart.

Ingredients – serves two

1 tomato, sliced thinly

½ red onion, sliced thinly

¼ small butternut pumpkin, sliced thinly

½ capsicum, sliced thinly

handful baby spinach

fresh mozzarella, sliced thinly

few teaspoons of milk for a milk wash

2 sheets of puff pastry

few table spoons of tomato paste

garlic flakes

chilli flakes

fresh basil leaves

Method

Using a pastry brush, milk wash the outside few cms of pastry as shown in the photo above. Using the back of a spoon, spread the tomato paste to the inside square and sprinkle garlic and chilli flakes to desired amounts. Tear basil leaves and place randomly around the square. Layer the vegetables up in any order, alternating between veggies and cheese for a good mixture and even spread of cheese. Bake in a moderate oven for 20 minutes.

Observations

  • Keep a close eye on the tart, as it will go from white to burnt in a heart beat.
  • I really wanted to char grill the vegetables first to introduce that lovely smokey flavour that you get from the grill. I ran out of time, but I will revisit this idea at some point in the future!
  • I wanted to create a more continental / antipasto flavour combination with some artichokes, olives, zuchinni and eggplant, but the cupboard was bare and some were out of season. Play around with the vegetable combinations, as I am sure many things will work here.
  • Diabetics Note: I had a quarter of a sheet for my dinner, and it filled me fine. I calculated it to be around 2 exchanges (30g of carbs) but it may have been as high as 3 exchanges (45g of carbs). My BGLs were fine, though.
 
 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
