RSS

Sweet Potato and Lentil Curry

02 Mar

I’ve been craving lentils for a few days now but I must admit, my recipe collection for lentils is a bit… bare. I scoured the internet this morning for inspiration, and stumbled across this little gem from food.com. I did alter it quite a bit, but I must say – it was delicious!

Ingredients – serves four

500g sweet potato
1 large onion
1 cup dry red lentils
1 litre veggie stock
½ cup flat leaf parsley
2 tablespoons curry paste
1 tablespoon garlic
½ tablespoon ginger
4 bay leaves
Drizzle of oil

Methods

  1. Dice the sweet potato into small bite size pieces (use the photo above as a guide). Chop the onion finely.
  2. In a pan, add a little oil and allow to warm. Add the curry paste, and cook until fragrant. Add the ginger, garlic, lentils, sweet potato, onions and enough stock to cover all ingredients. Stir well before adding the bay leaves.
  3. Cook with a lid on for 20 minutes. Check every 5 minutes and replenish the stock as needed.
  4. Serve over rice and garnish generously with parsley.

Observations

  • Awesome, delicious meal. I used a Thai Massaman Curry past for my base. The flavours were delicious, and in hindsight, I should have added a dash of coconut milk for a creamier texture. You could alter the taste dramatically by using a different curry paste. The original author recommended a Sharwoods Rogan Josh Curry paste which would have been equally as delicious.
  • I served this dish with some basmarti rice which is more diabetic friendly. It would have been to die for with brown rice!
  • This would work with potatoes and other such ingredients, however, I wont use potato because of their high carbohydrate content.
  • Diabetics Note: I was a little nervous with this dish, and for good reason. It had carbs from the rice and sweet potato. I limited my rice to half a cup cooked, and my BGLs behaved accordingly – they were quite high for my usual post meal BGL’s. Id probably not have rice at all next time.
  • Ethical Note: I opted to use vegetable stock tonight instead of chicken stock as a concious ethical decision. I don’t think it lost out on flavour, as it was quite more’ish!
 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Sweet Potato and Lentil Curry

Leave a Reply

 
