RSS

Hot Chickpea Salad

06 Mar

I have been thinking about chick peas for days. Now I admit, I am not so great with cooking pulses generally, but I do enjoy eating them. I am cooking them more and more often lately, so I am becoming more comfortable with them. This, however, is a winner and will go into regular rotation!

[  Serves: 3  |  Time: 30min  |  Cost: $4  ]

Ingredients

1 cup pumpkin, diced
1 cup sweet potato, diced
1 large onion, cut into chunks
2 carrots, cut into chunks
2 potatoes, diced
1 can chickpeas
2-3 cloves of garlic
1 tablespoon fresh parsley, chopped
1 tablespoon fresh rosemary
1 tablespoon fresh thyme
Drizzle of olive oil
Salt and pepper to taste

Methods

  1. Cut all vegetables into large bite size chunks. See image below as a guide. Toss with oil, herbs, salt and pepper. Place in oven safe tray and bake for 40 minutes at 200°C or until cooked. Check once during the cooking process and turn all ingredients over to re coat in oil and herbs.
  2. Remove from oven and mix through the rinsed chickpeas. The heat of the vegetables will warm the peas to a toasty deliciousness. Serve with quality crusty toast and devour immediately!

Observations

  • Diabetics Note: There were no problems with this meal as far as my BGL’s went. I introduced the toast to ensure I had enough carbohydrates for the meal.
  • So many variations of this could work. I really want to use leeks, whole garlic cloves and capsicum next time!
 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
