RSS

Homemade Muesli

08 Mar

Joe has been a muesli lover for a long time. Recently, he started to compare the ingredient compositions of the more popular brands, as well as some of the more upper market varieties. The ingredient composition, sugar content and additives in then left him quite disgruntled. I decided to see if I could make my own that would compare well with some of his favourites.

[  Serves: 30+  |  Time: 15min  |  Cost: $18 – 25  ]

Ingredients

750g rolled organic oats
750g Weetbix (wheat, sugar, salt, malt)
500g Rice Bran (Nu-vit brand made from rice flour, rice bran, purne juice)
250g Cornflakes (Sunsol brand made from Maize, sugar, salt, corn, glucose)
2 x 350g Fruit & Nut Mix (Aldi brand made of nuts (42%), raisins (15%), Sultanas (15%), seeds (28%))
500g Diced Apricots
250g Shredded Coconut
250g Dried Cranberries
250g Diced Dates

Method

Mix well and store in air tight containers.

Observations

  • The mix I make lasts Joe and me about one month or so, and different things get rotated in and out as I see things on special. The composition doesn’t always remain the same, and I alter it to our own tastes. (For example, Joe noted two weeks ago that it was getting too nutty for him, so I added some more fruit and grain.) Play around with this to taste
  • I was putting in wheat meal, but we decided to used up an open box of weetbix by crumbling the weetbix into the mix. Works well! But be warned, it does contain sugar and salt.
  • Joe prefers toasted muesli normally, and I have offered to toast this for him on several occasions, but we always seem out of time. You could easily give this a dry fry to toast off the grains and oils (such as in the coconut) for a delicious alternative.
  • I have fresh fruit on my breakfast every single morning. I change it regularly – sometimes mango, sometimes blueberries, sometimes banana and sometimes strawberries. I have been known to add random fruit at times like passionfruit and kiwifruit. Whatever I have on hand.
  • Brand plug: I try to use Sunsol products for my grains and fruit. The company is of a high ethical standard. The products are usually quality (with limited salt and sugar) and are often competitively priced for health food products.
  • Diabetics Note: I try to have ½ to ¾ cup only. With the soy milk and fruit, I am breaking the carbohydrate budget. It is, however, a fantastic start to the day, so I persist. I now have the serve size down to a fine art and my BGL’s thank me for it. Just a word of caution: bananas hate me. If I add banana, I expect my BGL’s to be crazy high later. STOP PRESS: This time around I added weet bix for fibre and have found that my sugars are higher than they were with just wheat bran added.
  • Ethical Note: We have searched and searched and searched for quality Australian apricots without success, and had to relent and buy Turkish apricots. Potential radio activity aside, we try to buy locally when possible. Finding quality dried apricots grown in Australia is our ongoing mission.
 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Homemade Muesli

  1. DR Quantum's Blog

    March 8, 2012 at 8:12 pm

    Muesli man here. Yes I am regular at the muesli bar. Couple of things. . .Thing # 1: according to Wikipedia muesli was pretty much invented by Swiss physician Maximillian Bircher-Brenner around about 1900. Clearly he should have just changed his name to Bircher-Muesli. If only he had known how far & wide his invention would travel! How famous it would become! There’s got to be a Hollywood Movie in the glamours of Muesli invention. Get Murdoch on the line Pronto! But I suspect some modern re-writing of history here. The story is that he got the idea from a “dish” he was served while hiking in the Swiss Alps. Hello Darl! Mr Bircher-Muesli did NOT invent muesli. It was invented by a group of intergalactic yodellers who crash landed in the Swiss Alps. They invented the Swiss Army knife AND muesli all in one afternoon of inspired madness. Those kooky Swiss. Thing # 2 as the crash landed Swiss Alp space people soon learned . . .here’s a little muesli secret . . . if you soak your muesli overnight with fruit juice . . .or the rich whitish substance extruded from the mammary glands of the female bovine . . .well you have a dish that is heaven sent. No jokes here about convalescent ex-hippies and old folks homes. It wouldn’t be in very good taste.

     
    • mizrhi

      March 8, 2012 at 8:26 pm

      Oh pro tip! I love sound of that! but sadly, diabetes and apple juice = a whole lot of bad. Ill try the milk one with my favourite soy! 🙂

       
      • DR Quantum's Blog

        March 8, 2012 at 8:47 pm

        Yeah i just heard recently that apple juice is one of the most sugar laden fruit juices?!! Who wuld have thunk it? And what about orange juice? Apparently the intergalactic Swiss Brotherhood used to soak in OJ . . .

         
      • mizrhi

        March 8, 2012 at 9:04 pm

        Yes, its true. If I have a hypo, I have to have apple juice for the instant sugar hit. Juices in general are usually made from concentrates so pretty heavy on the sugar. I just avoid them all. Keeps my dietitian happy.

         

Leave a Reply

 
