RSS

Roast Vegetables with Couscous

16 Mar

This has to be one of my favourite dishes, cause we eat it so often! Its a hot salad of kinds, and is so easy to knock up when I am studying and cant spare much time away from the books. Time restraints aside, its just delicious and is heaven sent for poor hungry uni students like me. It nourishes my body while my lecturers try to nourish my mind – fair trade, I am sure!

[  Serves: 3  |  Time: 30min  |  Cost: $5 – 8  ]

Ingredients

Equal amounts of vegetables. We used:

  • Cherry Tomatoes
  • Zuchini
  • Pumpkin
  • Sweet Potato
  • Red Capsicums
  • Baby Leeks from the garden

1 tablespoon parsley
1 tablespoon garlic
1 tablespoon cinnamon
Dash of Olive Oil

Method

  1. Cut all vegetables into bite size pieces. See the photo below for an indicator. Toss them well in the oil and spices and bake for about 20 – 30 minutes in a moderate oven until cooked.
  2. Prepare the couscous as directed on the packaging. Generally, I aim for ½ cup dry couscous and ½ water per person.
  3. Mix together well, ensuring that the couscous mixes through the vegetables. Drizzle any of the juices from the vegetable baking tray over your plate before serving.

Observations

  • I love this dish. I love everything about it. Its easy, its delicious, and its fast! The flavours just work for me, and the cinnamon adds something special. Often, i will play around with the herbs and spices; basil / rosemary / garlic are another favourite as is thyme / rosemary / garlic. Be adventurous!
  • The baby leeks in this particular dish were absolutely divine! They were sweeter than normal full grown leeks, and soooooo tender. They stopped growing in my garden after about a month – roughly the size of shallots. I pulled them up and prepared them the same way you would normal size leeks. I have just replanted with the thoughts of doing the same in about a months time!!
  • Diabetic Note: I have to admit, my BGLs always react poorly to the couscous in this dish. On bad days I will cut back heavily on my serve of couscous to compensate. Also, be careful of your oil – its very easy for a splash of olive oil to end up as a guzzle.
  • Ethical Note 1: Whats not to love about this dish? It frustrates me a lot that its very difficult to get Australian made couscous. The carbon miles of Italian pasta (regardless of how delicious it is) makes me shudder. The moment I find a more local substitute, I will switch. (side note: I just bought quinoa for the first time… wonder how that would work?)
  • Ethical Note 2: As always with these style dishes, I’ve cooked my vegetables in my Portable Convention Oven (PCO). These little wonders save a ton on electricity, are easy to clean, and convenient to use. If you use a PCO, just be sure to add a cup of water to the bottom of the PCO to stop your veggies drying out.
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Roast Vegetables with Couscous

Leave a Reply

 
