RSS

Banana Chia Muffins

19 Mar

Recently I had the good fortune to be introduced to the wonders of Chia seeds. It is a member of the mint family and the small oval seeds of the chia plant are a rich source of omega 3 fatty acids. The seeds may be eaten whole, ground or crushed. Personally, I love their crunchy texture, especially in muffins! I knew I had was on a winner when I noticed that Veggie Mama had Banana Chia Muffin recipe on her blog, and I wasn’t wrong. This is my variation on her original recipe. It is full of win and must be tried!

[  Makes: 14 muffins  |  TIME: 1 hour  |  COST: <$5  ]

Ingredients

1 cup wholemeal flour
½ cup self raising flour
3 mashed ripe bananas
¾ cup raw sugar
¼ cup butter, melted
1 egg
2 tablespoons baking powder
1½ tablespoons chia seeds
1½ tablespoons flax seed

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 220°C
  2. Add the beaten egg and melted butter to the mashed banana and mix well.
  3. Add all the dry ingredients and stir briskly until well incorporated.
  4. Fill the muffin tray until about ¾ full. Bake for 15 – 20 minutes until brown.

Observations

  • These were a delicious hot treat with a cuppa tea for my lunch guest today. They were particularly “more’ish” and would do well served cold with a banana icing.
  • My variations on this recipe make a heavier, heartier, moist muffin. The muffins don’t rise much because of the wholemeal flour. If you want a lighter fluffier muffin, use all self raising flour and less seeds.
  • Diabetic Note: This isn’t very diabetic friendly at all. I have to admit, I didn’t test my BGL’s after this afternoon’s tea. I suspect they would be quite high, given the ingredients. I did cut back on the sugar and butter requirements from the original recipe, but my BGL’s always react quite poorly to bananas so I can only imagine……………
  • Ethical Note:  Although a native of Mexico, Australia is the largest producer of chia in the world. Please look for an Australian brand when purchasing your seeds.
 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 19, 2012 in Food: Ethical Eating, Food: Vegetarian

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “Banana Chia Muffins

  1. DR Quantum's Blog

    March 19, 2012 at 12:51 pm

    Yes indeed Chia seeds were one of the three outstanding super foods that the conquering Spaniards decided to reject in favour of . . .you guessed it – wheat. But Chia, Amaranth and Quinoa (pron: keen-wah) are all members of a family of seeds from pre-hispanic Mexico reputed to have special amazing health giving and recuperative powers. As usual one must do ones own research into these things. And hey . . .thanks again for another great recipe. I will give it a run and let you know

     
    • mizrhi

      March 19, 2012 at 1:00 pm

      yup yup! I was doing some reading about them recently, so I’ve been trying to include them more into our ordinary diet. I love them! such good little things 😉

       

Leave a Reply

 
