RSS

Wholemeal Pancakes with Yoghurt

30 Mar

Don’t you just love a good hearty breakfast? If I don’t have something substantial for breakfast, my entire day suffers. And do you know when it’s even most important to have a good hearty breakfast? The morning after a night of awesome food, brilliant company and general beverage (over) consumption. The lovely Kat came to visit us last night for our customary fortnightly catchup. Joe wined and dined us and I wish I had of gotten photos of his spectacular efforts, but alas, the thought didn’t occur to me until we had consumed every last mouthful! You will just have to take my word for it – his spaghetti meatballs with wholemeal pasta dish was satisfyingly tasty and his berries with Chantilly cream dessert was heaven sent! But I digress…

It would be rude of me to send anyone from this house with an empty belly. Anyone who knows me knows that I love to feed people. Its how I express myself and to me, preparing a delicious meal is the ultimate expression of caring. It’s always a little scary serving Kat with samples of my kitchen creativity though, as she is a chef. I adore teasing some cooking tips from her though and she never fails to impress. This morning I teased this amazing gem from her… *queue heavenly music and rays of sunshine* Yoghurt in your pancake batter.

[  SERVES: 4  |  TIME: 20 MIN  |  COST: <$5  ]
[  JOES’ RATING: 4/5  |  MY RATING:  4/5 |  BRITTANYS’ RATING:  ?/5]

Ingredients

2½ cups wholemeal flour
1+ cups yoghurt
1+ cups soy milk
2 eggs
1 tablespoon baking powder

Method

  1. Bash Stir all ingredients with a stick spoon until dead thoroughly mixed.
  2. Warm some oil in a frying pan over medium heat. Using a large spoon, put some batter into your pan. Use the back of the spoon to spread out.
  3. Turn after a few minutes or when the edges are golden brown. Remove from the pan once cooked on second side.
  4. Serve in a stack of two with all kinds of divine manna of the gods: fruits, cream, ice cream, maple syrup….

Observations

  • I used some low far berry flavoured pot set yoghurt and the flavour and sweetness of the yoghurt could be tasted with each bite of pancake. It actually added a fantastic dimension to an old family favourite. I cant imagine yoghurt-less pancakes any more!
  • This batter was a little thicker than I had intended, as I was going by feel rather than a recipe. In hindsight, I should have added more yoghurt and soy milk to thin it out a little.
  • The pancakes were a little quite dense. A little more baking powder would have done the trick. Next time, Id double the amount. Just the same, the heaviness of them gave them quite a rustic feeling.
  • Diabetic Note: I wouldn’t class this meal as Diabetic friendly as it would be quite heavy in carbohydrates, although, with a little alteration it could definitely fit the bill. Diabetics should not have more than two pancakes, and definately should skip the syrup, ice cream and cream. Otherwise, I think it would be fine. I have to admit that I stayed full for a very long time from just two pancakes with fruit, and skipped morning tea as a result. Ultimately, maybe it could work on a 24 hour scale, but check with your dietitian.
  • Ethical Note: I have switched to using wholemeal (also called whole wheat) or blended flour where possible. Not only is it healthier for you, but it is better for the environment. Wholemeal utilises all of the grain as opposed to white flour which discards the germ and bran. Wholemeal has no additives and is not produced using the heat and bleach treatments that white flour does. By contrast, white flour requires refortifying, having killed available nutrients through such processing techniques where wholemeal does not. Additionally, many brands available on supermarket shelves boast being produced from 100% Australian Flour, lowering the carbon miles of the product!
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Wholemeal Pancakes with Yoghurt

Leave a Reply

 
