RSS

Figs with Mascarpone, chocolate and wine!

02 Apr

Some days are just destined to be awesome, and Saturday was like that for me. After discharging parental duties (aka: Mums taxi), I got out and about taking some (hopefully awesome) photos of all kinds of amazing stuff for an assignment I am currently working on. By chance, I stumbled across this rather amazing scene of some men with their radio controlled yachts at Prospect Lake.

The Yachts are of the international one metre class and are just gorgeous looking.

As I was soon to learn, racing is serious business!

Foiled by duck weed on the keel!

The Ballina Radio Yacht Club sails every Saturday afternoon at Prospect Lake or Chickiba Lake East Ballina. Contact the club for more info on (02) 6686 6242.

So what, pray tell, has any of this got to do with figs, Rhianna? Ok ok, I did get a little side tracked with the boats! It was mid afternoon by the time I got home and was about to go out for more random photos when I got a phone call from the gorgeous Kat and her friend Beth. They were coming to visit and were bringing a gift of figs, mascarpone cream cheese, Lindt chocolate and an orange flavoured dessert wine. Being the gracious host that I am, I gladly allowed them to come visit and we feasted on all manner of goodness.

[  SERVES: 4  |  TIME: 5 MIN  |  COST: <$10 without wine |  RATING:  5/5 ]

Ingredients / Methodology

  • fresh figs, cut in quarters to a depth of about half way along the fig
  • tub of Mascarpone cheese, spooned generously into the fig centres
  • sprinkle of cinnamon to garnish

Observation

  • What a fantastic idea / treat! This looks awesome plated, and is sure to impress.
  • Diabetic Note: I can honestly say that the packaging for the cheese disappeared before I could read the contents and /or nutritional data. As a result, I am ignorant of how good or bad this may have been for me. It is a treat, and as such, was enjoyed! I did limit myself to one fig and two chocolates though, just in case.
  • Ethical Note: Figs are in season at the moment, and are available in many of the larger supermarkets and smaller shops. Check the locality of your supply, and where possible, opt for locally produced.

Related articles

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Figs with Mascarpone, chocolate and wine!

  1. narf77

    April 2, 2012 at 9:21 am

    I am having a Homer Simpson moment…excuse me if I drool on the keyboard…those all all of my favourite food groups all on one plate (and in one glass). How can you top that!?

     
    • mizrhi

      April 2, 2012 at 9:35 am

      I know! So simple and so good, right? Nom nom!

       
  2. notesfromrumbleycottage

    April 5, 2012 at 5:34 am

    I have not messed with figs all that much but that looked tasty.

     
  3. Ragamuffin Diaries

    April 5, 2012 at 11:08 am

    how delicious! Sounds absolutely divine.

     

Leave a Reply

 
