RSS

Eggy Cabbage

05 Apr

When I was a young girl, Nana and Nanu (Maltese for Grandfather) would often have eggy cabbage for lunch. Sometimes they would have it with toast, other times as is. Every now and then, I still make it when I have cabbage in need of use. I cant tell you if it is a traditional Maltese dish or not. Perhaps some of my Maltese readers will know. If you do, please leave me a comment!

[  SERVES: 1  |  TIME: 20 MIN  |  COST: <$4 |  My RATING:  3/5 ]

Ingredients

1 handful of shredded cabbage.
2 free ranged eggs per serve
2 tablespoons vinegar
few shavings of peccorino cheese
salt and pepper to taste

Method

  1. Shred the cabbage as thinly as possible. Bring a saucepan of water to the boil before adding the vinegar, a pinch of salt and the cabbage. Allow to boil until tender. Drain well.
  2. In a bowl, beat eggs with generous amounts of  (salt to taste) and pepper.
  3. Heat a frying pan with a little oil. Pour your egg mixture into the pan before adding your drained cabbage. Gently mix through once to ensure its incorporated before spreading out and allowing it to set with the aid of a lid. Top with a few shavings of a hard cheese such as Romano or peccorino.
  4. Serve and eat immediately!

 Observations

  • The thinner and more consistent your cabbage, the better the end result.
  • Don’t over boil your cabbage. It should not lose colour, should remain crisp but be tender and tasty.
  • Diabetic Note: There isn’t much in the way of carbohydrates in this dish, so be aware of this short coming, diabetics! You will definitely need to have some fruit or bread with this dish to lift the exchange points for insulin dependant diabetics.
  • Ethical Note: I only ever use free ranged eggs. The taste is better, and the chickens that produce them live far better lives. An extra dollar or two is a small price to pay for such an ethical decision. (I actually intend on writing an article about egg ethics soon, so stay tuned!)

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “Eggy Cabbage

  1. Ragamuffin Diaries

    April 5, 2012 at 11:04 am

    what a yummy combination of simple ingredients! Looks great.

     
  2. narf7

    April 5, 2012 at 3:41 pm

    Very interesting…I wonder if it is Maltese? I love cabbage, and brussels sprouts, and broad beans (can you tell that I am hungry? :))

     
    • mizrhi

      April 5, 2012 at 9:49 pm

      I am not really sure. Its yummy though!

       
  3. Linda

    April 5, 2012 at 3:58 pm

    Nan could make anything taste good! I wouldn’t have believed that could look so good if I hadn’t seen those pics, good job xxx

     
  4. Frances antoinette

    April 5, 2012 at 9:08 pm

    At first, when I saw the word cabbage, I did not think the dish would be tasty…but cheese and eggs with almost anything will be sure to turn out delicious!

     
    • mizrhi

      April 5, 2012 at 9:49 pm

      I use to love it when I was growing up. Nan would sometimes make it more like a scrambled egg mixture and put it on toast. Any way you wanna try it, its pretty tasty for something so simple 🙂

       
  5. Nora Blithe

    April 6, 2012 at 7:07 am

    That sounds great! I love cabbage and, or course, cheese. I mean who doesn’t like cheese. Also, low carb. Once I realized how disproportionate my carb intake was, I cut back dramatically. Now, I’m always on the look out for new, easy recipes. Thanks!

     
    • mizrhi

      April 6, 2012 at 7:13 am

      Thanks Nora =) It is simple and tastes great. I use a strong tasting traditional hard cheese but any cheese could technically work. Just be sure to season it well 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
