RSS

Sourdough Blueberry Muffins

09 Apr

For weeks now, I have been battling with trying to get a sourdough starter established. After two trials (and failures) I’ve finally got a stable, happy sourdough. The starter method I used can be found on the Sourdough Home – a comprehensive site dedicated to bath water sourdough. Anyway, for my first trial baking, I decided to try something that looked appealing. The original recipe can be found on the Sourdough home’s muffin page and full credit goes to Mike for it. I also hope he wont mind me meddling with his original recipe…

[  Makes: 8 – 10  |  TIME: 40 MIN  |  COST: <$5  ]
[  Joes Rating  3 / 5  |  MY RATING:  2 / 5 ]

Ingredients

1 cup wholemeal flour
1 cup sourdough starter
½ cup blueberries
¼ cup almond slivers
¼ cup sugar or sugar substitute
¼ cup oil
1 egg
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon vanilla essence
¼ teaspoon salt

Method

  1. Pre-heat oven to 220°C (425°F)
  2. Mix all the dry ingredients in a small bowl and set aside.
  3. Mix all the wet ingredients in a medium bowl.
  4. Add the dry ingredients to the moist ingredients, slowly stirring in the blueberries and nuts.
  5. Spray muffin tray with oil. Fill the muffins to the top.
  6. Bake for 20 minutes.

Observations

  • I have to say right up front that I am not a baker. I generally leave the baking up to my daughter Brittany. Having said that, I can’t say that this was hugely successful. The taste and texture were all a little… bread like. Notwithstanding, it is my first attempt at sourdough anything so in a sense, it’s a huge success! =)
  • This was a very thick dough like mixture rather than a smooth batter. In hindsight, perhaps 50% wholemeal and 50% white flour could have been used, and perhaps a dash of milk.
  • I cant wait to try to make other sourdough baked goods… look out for breads, muffins, bagels and pancakes coming your way soon!
  • Diabetic Note: All this flour means carbohydrates. According to the website, each muffin is about 26 grams of carbs. Adjust accordingly.
  • Ethical Note: I’ve been doing quite a bit of research recently into flour.  Did you know that most white flour use steam to remove the husk, killing a lot of the nutrients along the way? As a result, manufacturers have to include additives to lift the nutrient values back to an acceptable level. Before it reaches you, the flour is also bleached to make that bright white colour that so many of us seem attracted to. Now ask yourself, how can this be sustainable, ethical or practical? Where possible, use organic wholemeal flours. Your intestines will thank you for it.
A sourdough starter fermenting.

A sourdough starter fermenting. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

22 responses to “Sourdough Blueberry Muffins

  1. narf77

    April 10, 2012 at 6:54 am

    Well done Rhianna! I tried to make a starter not so long back and ended up with a yellow festering bowl of septic tank water that I decided NOT to use to make anything so I sent it back to the septic from whence it obviously aquired its microbes…I just found a book on making sourdough starters from all sorts of sources on the bookshelf yesterday. Your post has just given me the impetus to have another go. Now its a bit cooler and the sourdough can sit warming its nether regions over the wood stove simmering away it might just become something that I can work with…a mutual partnership rather than a festering war. Love the
    look of those muffins by the way. I too did research on flours and spelt is a great flour to use if you are having problems digesting normal (modern) flours. As an ancient breed of wheat it apparently hasn’t got all of the genetic mucking about that most flours that we use today have undergone and so I dare say that apart from being expensive (what “live foods” aren’t these days eh?) it would be good if you are gluten intolerant. My sisters partner has celiac disease and can’t even have spelt so I do feel for people with gluten intolerance. Ok, off to have a go at a potato starter…or perhaps something with some other root vegetable? The book I rediscovered (one of my old books that I have been carting around for years) is an American one and quite interesting. Cheers for the idea 🙂

     
  2. narf77

    April 10, 2012 at 7:05 am

    P.S. have you checked out this site? Its a local Tasmanian site and might be interesting to you

    http://sourdough.com/about

     
  3. mizrhi

    April 10, 2012 at 7:15 am

    Perhaps tapioca flour may work, but I think its heavily processed (cause its bright white). You may find that you need to start the starter with something like wholemeal or rye flour and then switch to something like tapioca or potato flour once its established (which is the norm anyway).

    A few days after I made these muffins, this starter just suddenly and unexplained died. This inability to keep the starter alive after the three week mark is driving me insane. I started a new one only last night and I am currently using rye flour. The battle of the sourdough continues, but I’m fighting a good fight! I am far from a sourdough expert (rather, I’m a sourdough assassin!) but I’m still determined. I will be making my own bread… someday…

     
  4. random7

    May 12, 2012 at 12:14 am

    I love all the sourdough things that you make : ) I can’t wait until I start doing sourdough cooking. I just generally don’t have a lot of time : [

     
    • Rhianna

      May 12, 2012 at 9:08 am

      Hi there, Random7!

      You would be surprised. Actively maintaining my sourdough takes 2-4 minutes a day. Baking with sourdough is mostly about rest periods (proofing) so you might knead it for 10 minutes, resting for several hours, shaping (which takes 5 minutes) then resting for several hours then baking (which can be done while you do other stuff). Everyone has time. Its weather you have the energy. Get passionate about producing your own wonderful pieces of editable art and science (sourdough!) and you will be amazed at how much time you actually have.

       
      • random7

        May 18, 2012 at 3:41 pm

        Yeah, I do have the passion and the energy : ) I will get time eventually.

         

Leave a Reply

 
