RSS

When things go wrong.

12 Apr

Four years ago, I made a dish that turned out to be a bit of a disaster. I put cooked rice in the slow cooker with chicken and vegetables hoping for a nice stew with rice in it. What I got was something else entirely. To this day, it is still refereed to as chicken goop. When ever we talking about how good our meals are, the good (or bad!!) old chicken goop gets mentioned. I don’t think I will ever live down chicken goop.

I have been getting more and more out of my usual comfort zone in the kitchen lately, and it is perhaps because of my experimenting that today will always be remembered… along with chicken goop. Today consisted of many firsts. First time attempting sourdough focaccia bread. First time attempting to cook with tempeh. First time cooking and eating mushrooms. Yup, no small milestones.

I made the dough as directed ahead of time. Really, after I ended up with sticky dough up the walls, I should have known then that it wasn’t going to end well. But OHH NOO! I persisted.

After hours and hours of resting (and not that much rising) I did as instructed on the recipe and shaped my dough into focaccia loaves. See how pretty they look? I sprinkled them with the right herbs, garlic and cheese just for extra awesome. Yup, they sure did look good…

At the farmers markets we got some Tempeh. I have never had it before, nor cooked with it. I decided that as other vegetarians eat it, perhaps we should. I did everything that the girl told me to do to prepare it. I fried up some hallomi (a favourite with Joe and I) just for a treat. I also fried up some shiitake mushrooms with garlic. Oh wow, this was all looking good and smelling so great. Vegetarian heven!

I constructed myself a fantastic looking sandwich out of all the goods. I was feeling rather pleased with myself as I drizzled on the sweet chilli sauce to top it all off. Yup, awesome meal, Rhi… you are really improving as a cook…

And then I bit into it. After spitting it all back out, I pondered; How could this NOT be delicious? It all looked so good. I was in shock. Chicken goop had a challenger for the worlds worse dinner title. A serious challenger.

Let us never speak of this again…

 
7 Comments

Posted by on April 12, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

7 responses to “When things go wrong.

  1. Ragamuffin Diaries

    April 12, 2012 at 9:35 am

    but it looks so good! 😦 that’s too bad… I’m still kinda in awe that it wasn’t a success; it really does look so yummy!

     
    • mizrhi

      April 12, 2012 at 9:55 am

      Broke my heart, well and truly. The saddest part of this tale was that a few days later, the sourdough I had been cultivating for weeks died. Sourdough attempt #4 is currently under way.

       
  2. narf77

    April 12, 2012 at 10:08 am

    Yeh…anything involving tempeh is not going to end well! It is second only to green/brown lentils in my world of everything that tastes foul. Shiitake mushrooms are best in a really nice clear miso soup and I guess that sourdough starter was telling you something and gave you a little prezzie just before it died? Back to the drawing board! Would you like that recipe for the mashed potato starter or the potato water starter that I have in that 70’s – 80’s sourdough cookbook that I found the other day? There are all sorts of starters in it. I am off to stay with my daughters today. They are food freaks. They told me about how they had purple carrot and squid pancakes the other day and goat shanks. I am officially scared! Wish me luck…

     
    • mizrhi

      April 12, 2012 at 10:24 am

      Id love that recipe, Narf. Sounds like another attempt worth some effort. The pancakes sound like an interesting concept. The Japanese make a pancake that is pretty amazing like that. Anyway, you should tell us what foods you get to sample when you get home!

       
  3. Irfan Hussain

    April 12, 2012 at 4:44 pm

    Too bad it didn’t turn out well. It’s surprising because it really looks gorgeous. I was going to suggest the same thing as the person above me.

     
    • mizrhi

      April 12, 2012 at 8:10 pm

      Hello, Irfan! I know. It made me such a sad panda. I’ve just slipped fig and goats cheese tarts into the oven so hopefully they will be sensational. Stay tuned 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
