RSS

Sourdough Pancakes

13 Apr

SUCCESS!

I have the absolute pleasure to announce that after the crashes of last nights sourdough focaccia failure, I was able to redeem myself with these awesome sourdough pancakes. The original recipe was posted Linda Wilbourne over at Bread, Wood Design and More. I have to admit that I stumbled upon something totally amazing and through my own errors and omissions, made something that we all loved – a rare feat for this household.

The deliciousness of hot sourdough pancakes served with fresh local organic fruits and a drizzle of maple syrup.

[  SERVES: 2 – 3  |  TIME: 15 MIN  |  COST: <$2 – 3  ]
[  JOES’ RATING: 5/5  |  MY RATING:  4.5/5 |  BRITTANYS’ RATING:  4.5/5]

Ingredients

1 cup sourdough starter
1 free ranged egg
2 tablespoons soy milk
1 tablespoon butter
1 tablespoon sugar (or sugar substitute)
1 teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon baking soda

Method

  1. Melt the butter and mix with the soy milk.
  2. Beat the egg and combine with the starter. Add the remaining ingredients and incorporate well.
  3. If the batter is a little thin, add a little flour.
  4. Cook in a hot pan by adding two tablespoons of batter and tipping the pan to spread it out.
  5. Serve hot, topped with fruit and a drizzle of syrup.

Observations

  • When I warmed the butter in the microwave, I over heated it slightly. I added the milk to it to cook it back down before adding it to the batter mixture. When I added it the batter and eggy milky mixture happened, the baking soda and sourdough reacted to the heat and the batter magically doubled in size. It was light, silky and supremely airy.
  • I actually forgot to add the egg, and it wasn’t until I did the washing up that I noticed it still sitting on the bench! Whoops!! Just the same, they were delicious and I’ll be making them again (probably tomorrow) with the egg in them. Look out for variations of this recipe such as wholemeal flour, fruit additives, eggs, yoghurt ect.
  • What a brilliant way to use the cup of starter that gets discarded every day! nom nom
  • Diabetic Note: You just know that my dietitian just had a heart attack but I used a sugar substitute that is suitable for baking. My plate is the one at the back with the two tiny pancakes and fruit. (These are actually served on bread and butter plates, not dinner plates so the size is deceptive.) The only thing here that my diabetes has issue with is the banana, so I only had a little bit – perhaps ¼ banana. I guess this breakfast is probably two exchanges, give or take.
  • Ethical Note: What’s not to love here? I used my own sourdough starter which is full of beneficial natural cultures. I am avoiding packaged pre-packaged pancake mixes and I am using fresh local fruits. I use whole wheat flour and where possible, I use organic flours. At the end of the day, this meal is fairly sustainable with little environmental damage.

This batter hasn't been whisked. The bubbling action you see here is a result of the sourdough and the baking soda. Fantastic, isnt it?

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

15 responses to “Sourdough Pancakes

  1. debbrunson

    April 28, 2012 at 3:19 pm

    Loved your sourdough starter explanation- very nicely explained! And these pancakes are a must-try 🙂

     
    • Rhianna

      April 28, 2012 at 4:05 pm

      Thank you so much, Deb! Such a lovely compliment 😉

       

Leave a Reply

 
