RSS

Weekly Photo Challenge: Two Subjects

16 Apr

Every Friday, the fine folk over at The Daily Post issue a weekly photo challenge. This weeks challenge is Two Subjects. In their post, they suggest this “theme” is more of a composition challenge”. This is my entry.

There are actually several things in my post, but the two I wanted to talk about was my garden and my cat.

My Garden

My “garden” (as much as it is) is a collection of reused polystyrene (broccoli) boxes placed on our north facing balcony. We live in a small flat (aka apartment or unit depending on your prospective of the world) in a medium size regional centre. Our home is situated on a busy road, and as such, I have very little to no room for a garden. This is my alternative which happily substitutes our diet with quality fresh produce. I will actually be posting a whole post about my garden in a few days time, so I wont elaborate much more on it today 🙂

My Cat

I adore my kitty. Her name is Zoe, but she is more use to her unofficial names of kitty and precious. We got her as a 7 month old from a no kill rescue organisation. She was the oldest kitty there and as she wasn’t a cute playful kitten any more, was always being over looked. She was also shy and nervous which may not have helped her case much. But for whatever reason, on the day of our visit, she decided to jump into my lap and purr. The rest, as they say, is history. We rescued her from “the kitty orphanage”, and she has become a very important member of our family.

She is de-sexed and will never be bred from – we do not want to contribute to the worlds pet overpopulation issues. What struck us about our visit to “the kitty orphanage” that day is how many kittens there were. How many hundreds of kittens went through the doors of that place while our kitty was looking for a home? How many have since produced more unwanted kittens? How many will end up feral or euthanased?

She sees the outside world through windows and from our balcony when I do my daily gardening. Every day, she watches the birds from the windows, making her excited little chattering. I know if she were to get out of the house, she would kill wildlife. For this reason, she is a strictly inside cat. Pet ownership is about responsibility, not to just feed and vaccinate your pet, but also to ensure that it does not leave a massive carbon footprint.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 16, 2012 in Weekly Photo Challenge

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Two Subjects

  1. debbrunson

    April 16, 2012 at 2:25 pm

    Looking forward to reading more about your garden! And I love that you adopted your kitty- couldn’t agree with you more. I volunteer for a Great Dane Rescue and have adopted all of my pets in the past too… and they’ve each made my world so much richer 🙂 Wonderful post!

     
    • mizrhi

      April 16, 2012 at 4:03 pm

      Hi Deb!

      Its coming, I promise. Its in the queue of posts to come out and from memory, it will come out in about a week.

      How ironic that you have worked with a pure breed rescue service. I use to breed and show Bull Terriers once upon a time and was involved with the rescue and rehousing service ran by the club. They were so very rewarding, but I don’t find myself in a position of being able to have a dog these days.

      Cheers for visiting and for the comment!

       

Leave a Reply

 
