RSS

Sourdough Bread

27 Apr

SUCCESS. I can not begin to tell you how very elated I am to be able to report my bread success to you, dear loyal readers. After weeks and weeks of trial and error, I finally have a wonderfully stable sourdough starter (that I mentioned a few days ago). The next challenge was bread! After all, what is the point of it all if it can’t rise bread? There are so many bread recipes out there for the bread, that I had to carefully sort through them all (and look for the easiest one!). I don’t have a machine to knead for me, so the one that boasted no knead formulated was the obvious winner for me. I just hoped the promises of taste and texture delivered. I will let you be the judge…

[  SERVES: LOTS  |  TIME: 15 MIN  |  COST: <$3  ]
[  JOES’ RATING: 5 / 5  |  MY RATING: 5 / 5 |  Brittanys Rating:  4 / 5  ]

Ingredients

1 cup sourdough starter
1 cup wholemeal flour
½ cup white flour
1 cup water
1 tablespoon salt

Methods

  1. The night before: Mix your salt, water and starter together before working in your flours. If the dough is too thin / thick, add a little more flour / water. Cover with a tea towel and allow to rest overnight.
  2. Next morning: Punch down your dough and fold the sides of your dough over the top of each other. (see video below for example).
  3. Place in an oiled bowl and allow to rest for another 30 minutes. Preheat the oven to 260°C during this rest period.
  4. Shape the dough as desired. (I made mine into a traditional vienna style shape and sprinkled it with flour).
  5. Place it onto a baking tray covered with baking paper and bake for about 30 minutes or until brown and crispy.

Look how light and airy this bread is! Who would have thought it was possible with wholemeal bread?

Observations

  • To get the same consistency he does in the video, I have to use 1 cup wholemeal and 2 cups of white. I am not sure why this is (humidity, starter consistency, water?) but all in all, the dough still works out brilliantly!
  • Baking time will alter slightly according to the moisture content of your dough. This attempt was done within 25 minutes.
  • My dough quadrupled in size and produced a loaf approximately 750 grams in weight.
  • The bread was a lot lighter and fluffier than I had dared dreamed. I think that is because of the white flour incorporated into this recipe.
  • Diabetic Note: To be honest, I scoffed quite a few slices hot for breakfast and my blood glucose levels were quite happy considering. Normal bread would NOT have had my BGLs screaming for help.  There is something about this bread that made all my body sing with joy.
  • Ethical Note: There has to be something absolutely environmentally sustainable with people producing their own bread and avoiding the chemical nightmares propelled by the industrial machine. This success certainly made my heart sing, and this sandwich was the embodiment of all my efforts.
  • Post Note: I’ve made this bread four times, and its been different each time. If only I could work out what I did the first time, cause it was so awesome!

This sandwich was sheer excellence. It had home-made hummus instead of butter, home-grown tomatoes, free ranged eggs, local lettuce and cucumbers. It was nutritious, filling and delicious.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

22 responses to “Sourdough Bread

  1. narf77

    April 27, 2012 at 9:40 am

    My heart is singing right along with yours…what a MAGNIFICENT loaf of bread! If I didn’t have to study today, Steve gave me the keys to the car and I had the money for the petrol I would drive right up to Northern NSW and give you a hug you clever little vegemite you! If we ever manage to save up enough money that someone else doesn’t suddenly want before we can spend it, we might just head up to Queensland where I have a bucket list number allocated to eating my weights worth of exotic tropical fruit. When I recover we could meet at a cafe somewhere (gluten free of course) and we could swap a cup of your starter (probably 10 years old by then…) with a few of our hens. No idea how I am going to smuggle them onto the plane but I am ever a woman of determination! I just need to find myself a paperclip and get trading! Surely a traded flight is just around the corner! 😉

     
    • Rhianna

      April 27, 2012 at 10:38 am

      hehe I was just thinking Id like to see Tasmania before its all gone. My Aunty owned a house at St Helens for many years (think she still does but its rented out) and she always sung the praises of Tasmania. Maybe one summer very soon, you just never know!

       
      • narf77

        April 27, 2012 at 2:34 pm

        Lol give us warning, I will have to hide all of my failed sourdough attempts 😉

         
  2. anonymous3891

    April 27, 2012 at 12:29 pm

    I’m learning vegan, oil-free cooking and am wondering how this would work with a bread machine. I’ve been trying to get my whole wheat yeast bread recipe to work without oil but not much success. Any tips? It looks like you’re a much more advanced bread baker than I.

     
    • Rhianna

      April 27, 2012 at 12:33 pm

      Hi there.

      Thanks for the complement, but I am just a padewon learner! Seriously though, I am not sure how it would go in a bread machine. Sourdough culture takes time to proof (rise). It can take up to 24 hours so the bread machine would be too fast for the rising process of natural sourdough. Having said that though, this sourdough requires no kneading and I put it together before I go to bed and we cook it first thing in the morning for delicious hot bread for breakfast.

       
  3. Find Focus

    April 28, 2012 at 2:12 am

    What a beautiful loaf of bread! Yum!

     
    • Rhianna

      April 28, 2012 at 8:02 am

      It was so good. I’ve made a few more really decent loaves since, but nothing that compares to that first loaf.

       

Leave a Reply

 
