RSS

Potato, Leek and Garlic Soup

06 May

Ahhh winter. The time for fluffy pajamas and hot soup! And today, I get to eat hot soup while wearing fluffy pajamas! WIN!

[  SERVES: 5  |  TIME: 30 MIN  |  COST: $4  ]
[  JOES’ RATING: 4.5 / 5  |  MY RATING: 4.5 / 5 ]

INGREDIENTS

500 g potato
1 Lt vegetable stock
1 leek
1 onion
1 can evaporated milk (lite)
4 cloves of garlic
salt and pepper to taste

Methods

    1.  Slice the onion and leeks finely. Cut the potato into bite size pieces.
    2. In a pot or sauté pan, lightly sauté the leeks, onions and garlic until tender.
    3. Add the potatoes and cook for a few minutes before adding enough stock to cover the potatoes. Simmer gently.

    4. Once the potatoes are tender, remove from the heat. Using a blender, purée the mixture including the fluids.
    5. Return the purée to a gentle heat and add the milk. If the mixture is too thick, add a little more stock or water to desired consistency.
  1. Season and eat while hot.

Observations

  • If I have some pre roasted garlic, I add it to the final stage. It gives the soup that gorgeous roasted, caramelised flavour.
  • This soup will thicken if its left to stand for a while. Just add more stock / water to thin it to the desired consistency.
  • If you like a strong leek flavour, add another leek.
  • Adding some grated pecorino cheese to the top before serving gave this soup a real kick! Highly recommended for the brave amongst you.
  • Non vegetarians could add some crispy bacon pieces over the top before serving.
  • Diabetic Note: Portion size control – it’s going to be hard, guys, but you will have to exercise some form of control. All those potatoes = carbohydrate mayhem. I promise to be good… tomorrow…
  • Ethical Note: Although I did use evaporated milk, you could forgo the dairy and opt for soy milk.
 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “Potato, Leek and Garlic Soup

  1. Genevieve Martin

    May 6, 2012 at 10:27 am

    Potato and Leek soup is always a winter favourite…along with pumpkin and sweet potato soup 🙂

     
    • Rhianna

      May 6, 2012 at 10:32 am

      It is so good and hearty. So filling too. Specially when doubled with some home made bread!

       
  2. narf77

    May 6, 2012 at 2:28 pm

    Bollocks! I didn’t get this post sent to my email inbox…it must be something to do with the stuff up that WordPress has made of sending everyones comments to inboxes…I will just have to hit “follow” on everyones blogs again…sigh…

     
    • Rhianna

      May 6, 2012 at 4:24 pm

      =(

      I use a RSS feed / reader instead of using email notifications. Its SO much better.

       
      • narf77

        May 6, 2012 at 4:56 pm

        This might make me sound like a technophobe but how does that work? I have clicked on it before but not too sure how to go about using it

         
        • Rhianna

          May 6, 2012 at 8:28 pm

          First you find a reader. I use Google reader. Then you get the RSS feed link of your favourite blogs.

          (If you click on the RSS link on some-ones blog, it gives you a page full of weird text. You are actually after the URL. Mine is: https://mizrhi.wordpress.com/feed/)

          You take that URL and you use your feeder to “subscribe” to the rss feed url. Then all you need to do is check your feeder and your get to read all of your favourite blogs (the ones you subscribe to in your reader) right there.

           
        • narf77

          May 7, 2012 at 6:21 am

          That would be the best thing because at the moment I am getting a mega load of stupid other peoples comments to blogs that I subscribe to so I had to change my email address at WordPress to my spam address to cope! Not only that…but I had to resubscribe to all of my blogs that I am following (after clicking unfollow mind you…) because I am not receiving email posts from them now…WordPress has really stuffed up with this upgrade! I will check out using RSS feed because it did sound like a good idea. I already have some sites in my Google Reader (just not used to heading there to read them I guess 😉 Cheers for all of your help here Rhianna. I am not actually a computer illiterate, just a bit of a technophobe when it comes to machines. Steve is “Da man” when it comes to messing about and has to change the channels on the television (Austar) because I refuse to learn how…sad eh? 🙂

           
        • narf77

          May 7, 2012 at 4:31 pm

          Cheers for that Rhianna…Steve just sorted it out for me and no more acres of comments for me! Have you lost half of your followed blogs? I have! I can’t find them and they are no longer in the WordPress reader so goodness only knows what happened to them. See you tomorrow in the reader and thanks again…you really helped 🙂

           
        • Rhianna

          May 7, 2012 at 6:06 pm

          No problems. Glad you got it sorted.

          I didn’t follow my blogs through WP, so I didn’t lose anything. The changes they made in this upgrade are less than desirable, that’s for sure.

           
        • narf77

          May 8, 2012 at 6:46 am

          I have to head off hunting for half of the blogs that I followed! I won’t have to do that if there is a next time because now I am using the RSS feeds (thanks to you) Cheers again…I don’t think anyone is seeing my blog any more (my followers). I lost just about all of my views for my last post and it looks like I got wiped by WordPress…that really does suck! I am going to have to work hard to pick up my followers again.

           
  3. Three Well Beings

    May 6, 2012 at 5:18 pm

    I love the idea of the roasted garic! Sounds like such comforting soup! Debra

     
    • Rhianna

      May 6, 2012 at 8:29 pm

      The roast garlic adds something divine for this dish. The more caramelised the pumpkin, the better it is.

       

Leave a Reply

 
