RSS

Stuffed Tomatoes

09 May

Recently I was flicking through an old copy of That’s Life! magazine when I stumbled upon a recipe for Stuffed Tomatoes with Feta and Couscous. Now, we all know I have a love for all those things, but I decided to alter the original recipe significantly and the results were just sensational. I give you, Tomatoes stuffed with chickpeas, quinoa and feta!

[  SERVES: 3  |  TIME: 25 MIN  |  COST: <$3  ]
[  JOES’ RATING: 3.5 / 5  |  MY RATING: 4.5 / 5 ]

Ingredients

5 small – medium size tresses tomatoes with stems attached
½ cup crumbled feta cheese
¼ – ½ cup cooked chickpeas
¼ – ½ cup cooked quinoa
¼ – ½ cup cooked finely sliced spring onions
juice of 1 lime
2 tablespoons chopped parsley
2 tablespoons chopped mint
1 teaspoon paprika

Methods

  1. Carefully cut the tops off the tomatoes, reserving for later presentation. Use a spoon to scoop out the tomato seeds and pulp, leaving the tomatoes walls intact.
  2. Mix all ingredients gently – the idea is to try to preserver the integrity of the individual items.
  3. Spoon into the tomatoes and replace tomato top. Use tooth picks to hold the lid in place.
  4. Bake in a moderate oven for about 20 minutes.

Observations

  • I am a little vague on the measurements cause I was working with left overs today. Alter either way according to desired taste and texture.
  • I was a little short on tomatoes today, so I also stuffed a capsicum which also worked very well.
  • I made the following exchanges from the original recipe: chickpeas instead of minced chicken, parsley instead of coriander, quinoa instead of couscous and lime instead of lemon juice.
  • I used the gorgeous Illian Feta from the Nimbin Valley once again, and it never fails to deliver in texture and flavour. A clear favourite!
  • Diabetic Note: I used a bed of cooked brown rice for putting our tomatoes on. This added some carbohydrates to the dish, as well as giving it a nice stable platform. My blood glucose levels were grateful for that.
  • Ethical Note: I used the substitutes I did because I already had then cooked in the fridge as leftovers from other dishes. Instead of wasting leftovers, use them in a consolidated fashion like I have in this recipe. The earth thanks you for your reduced wastage.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

11 responses to “Stuffed Tomatoes

  1. Irfan Hussain

    May 9, 2012 at 4:57 pm

    my mouth started watering just reading through the recipie. You said you used brown rice. Will that contain lesser carbs than the regular white rice?

     
    • Rhianna

      May 9, 2012 at 7:39 pm

      No, technically basmati rice has the lowest carbs and lowest GI. I think that most of my meals are so low in carbs that I can opt to include the much more flavourful / healthier (whole rice) option of brown rice. If in doubt, go basmati.

       
      • Irfan Hussain

        May 9, 2012 at 7:42 pm

        Got it, thanks,

         
        • Rhianna

          May 9, 2012 at 7:48 pm

          Most welcome. If you like chick peas and quinoa, definitely give this a try.

           
        • Irfan Hussain

          May 9, 2012 at 7:50 pm

          I do like chick peas, i must show this recipe to my mom and pester her to give it a try. Probably she’ll make it for me as dinner to night.

           
        • Rhianna

          May 9, 2012 at 8:00 pm

          Oh awesome! Id love to know what you think. Just quietly, the stuffed caps were brilliant too.

           
        • Irfan Hussain

          May 9, 2012 at 8:21 pm

          I was actually thinking of using the capsicum. Lets see, what’s available at home. If not i’ll make a run to the grocery store for it.

           
        • Rhianna

          May 9, 2012 at 9:27 pm

          How exciting. I think you may be the first person to actually try one of my recipes that I know of!

           
  2. Irfan Hussain

    May 11, 2012 at 5:15 pm

    Hey, rhianna. I tried this with caps, mozzarella cheese and basmati. It was really good.Basmati and caps were a good combo.

     
    • Rhianna

      May 11, 2012 at 6:13 pm

      AWESOME! I’m so glad. Did you do meat or chick peas?

       
      • Irfan Hussain

        May 11, 2012 at 6:26 pm

        I wanted to try your method so stuck to chick peas. I went for mozzarella cheese option as i had no access to feta.

         

Leave a Reply

 
