RSS

Wilted vegetables grace my plate and not the landfill.

12 May

What to do for dinner at the end of the week? Surely there isn’t anything still worth eating this close to shop day? Wrong!

This meal consisted of some wilted Asian greens (refreshed with some steaming), ageing broccoli (that brightened considerably after a quick dip in some hot salty water), zucchini fried in spring onions and garlic served on day old brown rice. And – it was delicious!

Make a commitment to reduce your waste and use all of your fresh produce rather than sending it to land fill. The earth will thank you for it.

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Wilted vegetables grace my plate and not the landfill.

  1. narf77

    May 12, 2012 at 1:03 pm

    That delicious meal of leftovers looks almost as good as the much more expensive meal on your banner. Using leftovers is indeed an amazing way to help reduce your carbon footprint. People throw out food every day and our tips and landfill are full of wasted food. Leftovers don’t have to be anything to “sniff” at (literally sometimes 😉 ) but can be culinary delights, it just takes a little thought. Steve is the only meat eater in our house so meat goes a LONG way and leftovers even further. We make a lot of Indian, Asian and “other” meals that use a lot of vegetables and most of them will lend themselves to being highly creative leftover surprises. Last night was Asian feast…tonight is Indian feast and tomorrow night is leftover feast combining the 2 leftovers and looking a whole lot like a food court buffet! I love the challenge of using up all of our leftovers and we rarely have any to throw out to the chooks.

     
    • Rhianna

      May 12, 2012 at 1:38 pm

      Ahhhh Narf! Ive missed you. Where have you been? Welcome back =)

      I agree, people should learn to utilise more of their fridge contents. Cheers for the comment!

       
      • narf77

        May 12, 2012 at 1:44 pm

        Lol I just learned to read my posts in google reader is where I have been! I had 895 project Guttenberg books to check out before I got to the smaller posts. I am back! And not a minute too soon…you are cooking up a veritable feast and I was missing out!

         
        • Rhianna

          May 12, 2012 at 2:12 pm

          It takes a little time but a rss reader is the bomb.

           
        • narf77

          May 12, 2012 at 2:32 pm

          still getting heaps of other peoples comments to my inbox though…even though I have unsubscribed from all my followed blogs etc! WordPress sucks! I am in the process of moving to google. Check this out… this is most exciting and interesting and something that I think you would be really interested in. Sorry its on your food blog! (too lazy to head over to the Environmental Rhi source 😉

          http://www.treehugger.com/energy-policy/amory-lovins-wants-us-reinvent-fire-50-year-energy-plan.html

           
        • narf77

          May 12, 2012 at 6:03 pm

          Check this out…I am SO ANGRY! I can’t believe that we are subject to this sort of rampant stupidity in our own country let alone this “supposed” clean green state…Genetically modified food…allowing imported fresh fruit and veggies…minimising labour… who runs these stupid conferences anyway? Monsanto?!!

          http://www.abc.net.au/rural/news/content/201205/s3500817.htm#.T64SHgeSuNs.facebook

           
        • Rhianna

          May 12, 2012 at 6:11 pm

          Its only a matter of time til everything is pink slime and GM. Apparently, its called efficiency and smarter agriculture. I think its a short road to decay, personally. I need to put together a post about GM, but I honestly dont have the time atm. (Last report due in two weeks then I have a few weeks to do some research and writing!)

           

Leave a Reply

 
