RSS

Frogs in the logs

13 May

A few weeks ago, I spotted a photo on someone’s blog of this. Despite having spent a good half hour or so searching through my RSS feed looking for it, I couldn’t find it. If this was your idea, please speak up so I can give you the credit you deserve. As I only vaguely remembered the photo, I kinda invented the filling. It was a delicious way to start the day though, and is highly recommended!

[  SERVES: 3  |  TIME: 25 MIN  |  COST: <$4  ]
[  JOES’ RATING: 4 / 5  |  MY RATING: 3.5 / 5 ]

Ingredients

3 wholemeal bread rolls
3 free ranged eggs
½ cup diced red capsicum
½ cup diced spring onions
½ cup grated cheddar or crumbled feta cheese
¼ cup shredded parsley
salt and pepper to taste

Method

Preheat oven to 180°C

Carefully cut the top off the bread rolls and pull out about half of the stuffing.

Place layers of filling into the bottom before cracking a whole egg into the middle.

Cover the eggs with layers of filling, topping off with a layer of cheese and seasoning

Bake in oven for about 15 – 20 minutes, until the egg has set.

Serve immediately.

Observations

  • Our rolls dried out pretty fast, so use a cup of water in your oven to keep the air moist.
  • I used a folk around the edges to test if the eggs had set firm. This method allowed me to serve them while the yolks were still slightly soft.
  • Diabetic Note: Ohhh angry blood glucose levels were angry! This much bread did not make my insulin happy at all.
  • Ethical Note: We used day old and two-day old bread rolls for this. What a sensational way to use up leftovers and reduce waste! The parsley came from our garden and cheeses were locally made – added bonus points for us!

 

Tags: , , , ,

8 responses to “Frogs in the logs

  1. debbrunson

    May 13, 2012 at 1:33 pm

    Must tell you that I love your “observation’ section of the recipes you post. It is so helpful! It’s as if we’re chatting about the recipe and you give that little extra tip… 🙂 Thank you!

     
    • Rhianna

      May 13, 2012 at 6:44 pm

      YAY /

      That was my aim, Deb. I publish the recipe I followed but I talk about what I would change next time so people can avoid the same mistakes / take some notes.

       
    • Rhianna

      May 13, 2012 at 6:46 pm

      Cheers for the blog love, Deb! xo

       
  2. narf77

    May 13, 2012 at 2:19 pm

    I agree…its great to have the observation section as you learn a whole lot about people who have diabetes and ethical sustainable choices that you otherwise may not hear about from your first hand observation. Love the look of this hearty breakfast but why is it called “Frogs on logs?” A somewhat obscure name for this interesting dish 🙂

     
    • Rhianna

      May 13, 2012 at 6:46 pm

      Well, a “Frog in a hole” is a piece of bread with the centre taken out that a egg is dropped into and then fried. Its a fairly common name, in Australia at least. I thought this was a neat kinda spin.

       
      • narf77

        May 14, 2012 at 6:41 am

        much tastier than the original simple egg dish I bet! Yours looks really yummy however I couldn’t quite see how it got its name!

         
    • Rhianna

      May 13, 2012 at 6:46 pm

      Also, cheers for the blog love xo

       
      • narf77

        May 14, 2012 at 6:41 am

        No problemo…your blog inspires me to comment 😉

         

Leave a Reply

 
