RSS

Brinjal Sweet Pickle – Gourmet Garden Blogoff

14 May

Welcome to a week-long session as I compete to the Gourmet Garden cook off / blog off. For the next week, all the items I make will be made with a range of Gourmet Garden products. I hope you will enjoy them!

The farmers markets always inspire me to create awesome food. A few weeks ago, I purchased a tub of Brinjal from a local woman named Pinny. I have never experienced it before and it was mouth-watering delicious. I decided to give it a go myself. This is my first attempt at a home-made pickle, and I managed to amaze myself! This recipe is modified from Awes me Cuisine.

[  SERVES: 3  |  TIME: 25 MIN  |  COST: <$3  ]
[  JOES’ RATING: 4.5 / 5  |  MY RATING: 4.5 / 5 ]

INGREDIENTS

1 kg eggplants
2 cups vinegar
1½ cups sugar
1 onion
¾ cup oil
2 tbsp salt
1 tbsp gourmet garden chunky garlic
1 tbsp gourmet garden hot chilli paste
2 tsp cumin seeds
1 tsp gourmet garden ginger paste
1 tsp mustard seeds
1 tsp caraway seeds
1 tsp turmeric powder

Method

  1. Wash and cut the eggplant into large bite size chunks. Dice the onion finely.
  2. Soak the garlic, chilli, cumin seeds, ginger, mustard seeds and caraway seeds in the vinegar for an hour or so.
  3. In a large sauté pan, in a little oil, fry off any dry ingredients with the onion until caramelised.
  4. Add the remaining ingredients – the eggplant, vinegar mixture, sugar and salt.
  5. Reduce the heat and stew until reduced and the sauce has thickened. This will take about 30 minutes.
  6. Enjoy warm or allow to cool and serve with crackers, bread or as a side with vegetables.

Observations

  • This pickle is quite sweet and mild tasting. Next time, I intend on cutting the sugar back by half, reducing the oil content by half and increasing the spice content by double.
  • Today Joe and I feasted on this Brinjal with some hot crusty home-made sourdough bread!
  • As eggplants are in full season, I was able to utilise two different varieties in this dish. It doesn’t matter which variety you can access.
  • Diabetic Note: As delicious as it is, the recipe (ingredients) I used today is not diabetic friendly unless it’s used sparingly. The changes I mention above (observations) should make it a much wiser option for diabetics.
  • Ethical Note: Pickling is a great way of utilising seasonal produce that allows you to enjoy those flavours long after the season is over. Reusing old jars and tubs is a great way of recycling.
 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Brinjal Sweet Pickle – Gourmet Garden Blogoff

  1. narf77

    May 14, 2012 at 10:07 am

    Love this post. Not only are you sharing something interesting that we can all try but you are showing us how to preserve something to enjoy when it is not in season. Eating seasonally is the first step in reducing our carbon footprint. Sometimes it all seems like WAY to much hassle to opt in to sustainability, but its just one step at a time…baby steps like preserving for later, using what is seasonally available and growing your own produce and suddenly you are feeling like a homestead farmer when you live in a small apartment in the city! Its all about using lateral thinking to affect your own change and take back your choices. Love your posts Rhianna and LOVE my new ability to read via rss feed. All thanks to you 🙂 I have been trawling the “Instructables” site for ways to use my bread wrappers (crocheted to make outdoor mats), my plastic bottles etc. to minimise my recycling and to repurpose these items to make usable desirable items to save us money. Why stop at recycling when you can learn how to laminate your plastic bags together to make something that you can re-use to make other things? All thanks to Google Reader and Rhianna. See…your blogs actually made at least one person empowered to think more about what they were doing with their waste and do something about reducing land fill…now I just have to calm Steve down about me taking over his shed to laminate my plastic bags…make bug houses out of twigs…drive him nuts with stacking up all my old wine bottles so I can make a bottle wall and all of my other mental ideas. Poor Steve…he says he feels sorry for Joe if you are half as crazy as I am! 😉

     
    • Rhianna

      May 14, 2012 at 12:23 pm

      Its really delicious, Fran, and so easy! You have to give it a try and tell me what you think! I intend on doing more preserving and pickling, cause its so easy and so awesome.

       
  2. narf77

    May 14, 2012 at 10:10 am

    Oh…by the way…check out this amazing way to halt the credit crunch AND add some positive energy to your home…I LOVED this one 😉

    http://www.instructables.com/id/Credit-Card-Flower-Box-Fridge-Magnet/

     
    • Rhianna

      May 14, 2012 at 12:27 pm

      Oh wow, that is brilliant. I really like the idea of that.

       
      • narf77

        May 14, 2012 at 3:25 pm

        Imagine your fridge door loaded up with tiny little plants. How cute!

         

Leave a Reply

 
