RSS

Chicken and Corn Soup with Cheesy Garlic and Herb Bread

19 May

When I was little, I use to love getting Chicken and Corn Soup from the Chinese Restaurant when we would eat out. It was one of my absolute favourites. When I learned what MSG was, and how it affected us, I stopped buying it. This new-found knowledge didn’t stop me from craving it and lamenting it when I saw it on menus.

It wasn’t until the early 90s when my Uncle Joe made this delightful substitute that fell in love all over again. It doesn’t have that creamy thickness that the MSG provides, but the flavour is still there! I hope you will enjoy this easy but healthy substitute.

[  SERVES: 6  |  TIME: 25 MIN  |  COST: <$6  ]
[  JOES’ RATING: 4 / 5  |  MY RATING: 4.5 / 5  |  Brittanys rating:  5 / 5  ]

Ingredients

400 grams shredded cooked chicken
2 cans creamed corn
1 can baby corn (cut)
1 can corn nibbles (pieces)
400 ml chicken stock
salt and pepper to taste

Method

  1. Add the chicken stock to a pot and bring to the boil.
  2. Add the chicken, corn pieces and baby corn, stirring to incorporate.
  3. Add the creamed corn slowly til desired thickness has been achieved.
  4. Season and serve while hot.

Observations

  • You may remember me talking about making home made chicken stock a few weeks ago? I make this soup when I make stock as a way to use up the chicken meat from that process.
  • Sometimes, if the meat is a little light on, or the stock is a little bland, I will turn this into a egg drop variety (which is actually a favourite too!). To create an egg drop effect, whisk two eggs in a bowl and use a spoon to slowly drizzle the egg into the boiling soup. This method cooks the slow steady stream of egg instantly and creates a delicious creaminess to the soup. You will also see this technique utilised in my recent won ton soup recipe.
  • If you prefer a thicker soup texture, you can thicken it up slightly using some cornflour with water. Add the cornflour slowly, a little at a time to ensure that the soup doesn’t become a gluteus mess!
  • Diabetic Note: What’s not to love here? The corn does have carbs, so be careful with adding things such as herb bread!
  • Ethical Note: I turned some day old bread rolls into cheesy garlic and herb bread! Mince some garlic into a bowl and add some shredded parsley, grated pecorino cheese olive oil and butter. Coat evenly on the bread before baking in a moderate oven for 15 minutes, until crispy. Serve hot for a delicious side dish.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Chicken and Corn Soup with Cheesy Garlic and Herb Bread

  1. Katherine

    May 19, 2012 at 1:49 pm

    Looks delicicous

     
    • Rhianna

      May 19, 2012 at 3:04 pm

      Its so simple and yet a real crowd pleaser.

       
  2. Irfan Hussain

    May 19, 2012 at 2:33 pm

    The soup turned out out to be really good. I didn’t try the garlic bread though. Will do it some time.

     
    • Rhianna

      May 19, 2012 at 3:05 pm

      Wow Irfan! You are really quick off the mark today. I am so glad you enjoyed it. To my knowledge, you are the only person who has tried two of my recipes! And I’m thrilled they were delicious for you 🙂

      *Beams happily*

       

Leave a Reply

 
