RSS

Weekly Photo Challenge: Hands

19 May

Every Friday, the fine folk over at The Daily Post issue a weekly photo challenge. This weeks challenge is Hands. 

Hands.  Hands can be instrumental in a photo – they emphasis, they hide, they reveal. They can be the star of the show, or just a prop to help the main attraction stand out better.

Cooking is all about hands. It’s about touching and using your hands to work some magic. Even given all the cooking I do, I have very few photos of my hands but I hope you will enjoy this selection.

To make Chicken Cacciatore, one must egg wash and flour the chicken pieces.

And try not to burn your hands like I did here.

Preparing the won tons for our favourite lunch – won ton soup.

One of my favourites – Vietnamese Rice Paper Rolls.

I love eating with my hands. Finger foods are an awesome way of grounding ones self. Here I am eating some Laab.

There is something amazing about using finger foods at a communal meal for bring people together. Here, Kat and Joe enjoy the Laab Kat prepared.

Joe and Brittany eat the ultimate finger food – tacos.

I’ve decided to be very game and add one final photo (This edit happened some 12 hours after I originally published this post.) The following photo is of a hand and is perhaps the most precious photo I have. It is the hand of my son, Tyler who died not long after this photo was taken. Tyler would have been 3 this coming July.

My darling Tyler, always missed and never forgotten.

For my regular readers, the photo on my enviro blog The Environmental Rhi-Source is different from the post here!

Related articles
 
39 Comments

Posted by on May 19, 2012 in Weekly Photo Challenge

 

Tags: , , , , ,

39 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Hands

  1. eof737

    May 19, 2012 at 7:47 pm

    Wonderful … and now I’m very hungry. 😉

     
    • Rhianna

      May 19, 2012 at 7:49 pm

      hehe me too. Chicken casserole incoming!

       
  2. Colline

    May 19, 2012 at 8:26 pm

    The best way to use our hands would be to enjoy your cooking 🙂

     
    • Rhianna

      May 19, 2012 at 8:39 pm

      hehe, not tonight! I burnt dinner. A rare event, and I did it well and truly tonight. =(

      Back to report writing now (and no doubt, mourning my chicken casserole.)

       
  3. Madhu

    May 19, 2012 at 10:12 pm

    Now you have reminded me of my mothers hands 🙂 Sorry about Tyler

     
    • Rhianna

      May 19, 2012 at 10:37 pm

      thank you for the kind words.

       
  4. Shaanthz

    May 20, 2012 at 7:53 am

    I am happy to note that you joined the Weekly Photo Challenge – glad that I could help.

     
    • Rhianna

      May 20, 2012 at 9:25 am

      Yes =)

      Thank you. I really enjoy it now and actually look forward to it.

      Thanks again 😉

       
  5. Three Well Beings

    May 20, 2012 at 1:29 pm

    I was all prepared to just say that although I’ve enjoyed several posts the last few days in response to the “hands” prompt, yours gave me a won ton soup recipe I’m quite excited about it–immediately added it to my Pinterest boards. But then I got to the last photo and my heart cried. I’m a little speechless, but I wish I could give you a hug. A precious little soul, your Tyler. Debra

     
    • Rhianna

      May 20, 2012 at 3:38 pm

      Thank you on several levels. xox

       
  6. Albadr Nasution

    May 20, 2012 at 8:45 pm

    It’s great when you skilled in cooking. I have no idea how to cook.
    Great works… Now i am hungry…

     
    • Rhianna

      May 20, 2012 at 10:10 pm

      Cheers for the lovely comment 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
