RSS

My Kitchen

24 May

I have been watching Masterchef (Australia) since it started up for the season and have been very jealous of all the kitchen / counter space they get to create in. My kitchen is exceptionally tiny. From counter to counter it is just under 6 feet across, and about 3 feet deep. The joys of living in a small flat, I imagine.  I often have several things on the go at once (I am a huge fan of multitasking and cook several meals at once) so I am very conscious of using every square inch of space.

I decided to take you on a tour of my kitchen to share it with you. I have tried to make a panorama of my kitchen for you by mashing a few photos together. Next to the stove on the left is the front door and the right side is the edge of the fridge on the edge of the dining area. As you can see on the window sill, my sourdough, sprouts and kitchen herbs loving the morning light. I have several things in various stage of cooking.

Here are the items to start making my chicken stock. Today I am using chicken wings to make the stock with. The meat will be stripped from the bones and made into a risotto of some variety (Probably chicken and leek) and the stock is made into all manner of food stuffs.

In the portable convection oven I have a loaf of sourdough bread baking. This particular recipe has been a bit of a staple at home for the last week or two and I will share this recipe with you in the next few days so look out for it, sourdough lovers!

Joe works weekends so I like to send him to work with a packed lunch. Roasted vegetables with couscous or rice is one of his favourites. Look for this recipe tomorrow.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on May 24, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “My Kitchen

  1. Irfan Hussain

    May 24, 2012 at 1:52 pm

    It looks beautiful. Thanks for the tour.

     
    • Rhianna

      May 24, 2012 at 6:33 pm

      Thanks Irfan! Its tiny and cramped but it is my creative space 🙂

       
  2. Three Well Beings

    May 24, 2012 at 2:16 pm

    You put me to shame! Your small kitchen is being so much better used than mine…you inspire me! Debra

     
  3. narf7

    May 26, 2012 at 11:02 pm

    I am really impressed that you turn out such gargantual feasts from such a small space. I designed my kitchen after we totally gutted the old kitchen when dad left the house to us. I must admit I hated overhead cupboards and so went with heaps of thick bamboo benchtops etc. I have to say…space is overrated Rhianna…its a WHOLE LOT like getting more money. Most people just manage to absorb it right back into their lifestyles and space is no different. My sister has a MASSIVE kitchen. She paid $60 000 for an upgrade (I KNOW!!!!) and every spare bit of space is covered in books, newspapers and old bills…you might have a new kitchen full of space but if you carry on your old bad habits no amount of space is enough! You are apparently one of those amazing people who can work in tiny spaces. I need arms length so that I can flail around with my arms. I think I was Italian in a past life… Good to see the space that gives us the scrumptious food 🙂

     
    • Rhianna

      May 27, 2012 at 9:59 am

      Cheers Fran.

      My grandma’s kitchen was the same as mine – tiny. She was an amazing cook. I think I learned my cooking habits from her really.

       

Leave a Reply

 
