RSS

Red Vegetable Curry

07 Jun

After yesterdays massive meat pizza of awesomeness, it was time to get a veggie fix. Today’s meal is more about using what is available rather than being creative.

[  SERVES: 4  |  TIME: 20 MINUTES  |  COST: $3  ]
[  JOES’ RATING:  3.5  / 5  |  MY RATING:  4  / 5 ]

Ingredients

500 ml vegetable stock
400 ml can coconut cream
1 onion
½ cup potato
½ cup  sweet potato
½ cup pumpkin
½ cup carrot
½ cup cooked chick peas
½ cup mixed frozen corn and peas
½ cup cauliflower
1 teaspoon red curry paste
½ teaspoon garlic
splash of oil
salt and pepper to taste

Method

  1. Dice the onion finely. Cut the remaining vegetables into bite size chunks.
  2. Over a medium heat, add a little oil to a frying pan. Add the onion and saute until transparent. Add the garlic and red curry paste, stirring well until fragrant.
  3. Add the potato, sweet potato, carrot, chickpeas, coconut cream and enough stock to cover the vegetables. Cover the frying pan with a lid and saute gently until par cooked. This may take 10 – 15 minutes.
  4. Add the remaining vegetables and top up with stock as needed. Cook until cooked throughout.
  5. Serve hot on a bed of rice.

Observations

  • I really love this style of meal. It has everything you could want, including firm delicious vegetables and nutty brown rice!
  • To prepare the chickpeas, soak the raw dried peas over night in water, refreshing it in the morning. Before use, boil the chickpeas in water for about 10 – 15 minutes until tender.
  • By cooking the dense root vegetables for 20 minutes before adding the softer vegetables, the colour and texture of the soft vegetables is preserved rather than allowing them to dissolve into the sauce.
  • Diabetic Note: As always, the wiser diabetic option would be Basmati rice. If only I could drag myself away from my delicious brown rice… At any rate, this meal is no problem as far as Blood Glucose Levels is concerned.
  • Ethical Note: I do cook this style of meal quite often as a way of using up the veggies still sitting in the crisper at the end of the week. I hate seeing good food go to landfill, so consider making soups and stews like this to avoid waste.
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Red Vegetable Curry

  1. Three Well Beings

    June 7, 2012 at 3:55 pm

    This is probably my favorite type of meal! I love curry, and this recipe just knocks me out! Great! Debra

     
    • Rhianna

      June 7, 2012 at 8:14 pm

      Me too! I have to admit to making this quite frequently cause we all adore it.

       
  2. narf77

    June 15, 2012 at 9:49 pm

    We often make curry feasts comprising lots of small Indian recipes served up together and its one of those cuisines where vegetarian is more prevalent than meat eating so there are a multitude of choices for me to eat with Steve. I am going to have an Indian feast day soon and will be using a very similar recipe to yours. Cheers…I have just about caught up with my rss feed reader! (Now I just have to stop adding more blogs etc…I am a naturally greedy woman! 😉

     
    • Rhianna

      June 15, 2012 at 10:12 pm

      I giggled.

      I just culled my RSS feed too.

       

Leave a Reply

 
