RSS

Competition Results

24 Jun

For some reason, my post that was meant for today has not appeared. Luckily for me, I was able to get internet access today for the first time in four days.

As you know, I cooked on Friday for the Gourmet Garden Cook Off. After several problems such as the organisers losing our equipment and having prepared the entire dish with a butter knife, the cooking of my dish pretty much went to plan. I put up a lovely dish and the judges commented on how well it was cooked several times.

On a spit decision, my competitor, Carolyn from Desire Empire was named the victor.

The judges took a lot of time to deliberate on the dishes, and asked me several times what was in my dish. When they announced the winner, they said that unfortunately it came down to how much of the sponsors product was used, and my competitor used more product than me.

I have learned a lot through the experience and will be much better prepared if I ever enter a competition again.

I will be home tomorrow and then blogging can return to its normal pace. Thank you once again for your support and patience over the last week.

 
13 Comments

Posted by on June 24, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

13 responses to “Competition Results

  1. Irfan Hussain

    June 25, 2012 at 6:02 pm

    Isn’t food valued based on the taste rather than the products used in it? I’m actually not ok with the terms on which the decision has been made.

     
    • mimivalentine

      June 26, 2012 at 10:16 am

      i agree totally with this sentiment.
      the comp wasnt “use as much product as possible to plug us” it was “use our products to make a beautiful dish”

      tots sux, but you obviously plated up a beautiful dish if it was that hard for them to decide 🙂

      good job sweet x

      (you should blog ur recipe for us to try!)

       
    • Rhianna

      June 27, 2012 at 9:21 am

      Either am I, to be honest, Irfan. I feel quite cheated. They told me outright that mine was the better dish but it came down to how much of the sponsors product was used. Lessons learned. Next time, it will be different.

       
  2. Rahel

    June 25, 2012 at 9:50 pm

    Sounds like you had a great time Rhianna 🙂 I’d love to do something like it – of course vegan 😀

     
    • Rhianna

      June 27, 2012 at 9:23 am

      Hi Rahel.

      I had a great time and learned so much. I actually wanted to do a veggie curry but I was quite limited in time – 30min to prep, cook and plate. I went with what I thought would be a crowd pleaser.

       
  3. Sammie

    June 26, 2012 at 2:06 pm

    awww.. That’s silly that your competitor won based on using their products!! oh wells… I’m sure your dish was amazing though! 🙂

     
    • Rhianna

      June 27, 2012 at 9:24 am

      After the judging, I cut up what they didn’t touch and handed it out as samples, and it was DELICIOUS. I am pretty happy with the quality of the food I put up. It was technically difficult, wonderfully cooked and packed with flavour.

       
  4. Three Well Beings

    June 26, 2012 at 2:15 pm

    It sounds like you’ve had a good experience, and have learned a lot about the world of competition! Good for you! I’m sure you did prepare a wonderful dish and I’m impressed with how you managed against all the delays and technical issues. Whew! Debra

     
    • Rhianna

      June 27, 2012 at 9:26 am

      Hey Debra,

      Oh for sure. You have no idea about the many little hick ups there were. I was just happy to put up a technically difficult dish that tasted and looked wonderful. Cheers for your support, my blog friend!

       
  5. narf77

    June 30, 2012 at 9:47 pm

    Ok so here’s what we learned from this story…should any of us ever attempt to enter a cooking competition for a sponsored product…use at least a bucket of said product in your recipe. In fact…how about tipping a carton of their product onto a plate and topping it with a sprig of parsley (you HAVE to have that personal touch now… 😉 )

     
    • Rhianna

      June 30, 2012 at 10:43 pm

      I was quite upset by it to be honest. This week its upset me more than it did when it happened. My food was good but lost cause I didn’t use enough product? Kinda bizzare but at the end of the day, judges decisions are final and I move on.

       
      • narf77

        June 30, 2012 at 11:20 pm

        Yeh…but hey, next time you are prepared…you are even going to wear a sponsors t-shirt, squeezy bottles of their herbal pastes as earings and you will ask to sing a little song lauding the praises of their amazing product right before you start to cook… seriously…is it worth it when you now realise that its not “what” you cooked, but “how much” of their product that you used?

         

Leave a Reply

 
