RSS

Product Review: Maggie Beers Sparkling Ruby Cabernet

01 Jul

While I was at the Sydney Good Food and Wine Festival to cook, I got to do the rounds and sample from a wide range of products. As a result, I have decided to review some of my favourites over the next few weeks.

Over the next few weeks, you can expect to see some of the gorgeous Maggie Beer products being reviewed as I was genuinely impressed by her story and vision. Maggie is an Australian restaurateur from the Barossa Valley in South Australia. Since the closure of her restaurant in 1993, she has become an Australian culinary icon and co hosts a TV series (ABC) called The Cook and the Chef. More recently she has bought out a gourmet range of foods and beverages that are produced from the orchids of her own farm. The concept she promotes is simple; wholesome local and seasonal produce for perfect results. It is the later part of her story that inspires me.

The first product I am reviewing is Maggie Beers Sparkling Ruby Cabernet. I purchased this product for Joe as he adores a good spritzer and based on the small sample I tasted at the show, I was sure it would please. And I wasn’t wrong!

This light but fruity non alcoholic beverage is served chilled and is delightfully refreshing. I was truly blown away at the complexity of flavours this drink had to offer, and would be only too happy to serve it for guests. Sipping a glass of this fruity delight gives me visions of a summer picnic or a delightful intimate meal of something gamey. I have to say I highly recommend it.

From Maggie’s Website: A non-alcoholic wine made from the juice of Cabernet grapes; Sparkling Ruby Cabernet has the bead of champagne and the mouth feel of a good wine. Rose petals and crushed strawberries on the nose are complemented on the palate with green tea characters that finish crisp and dry with a note of citrus and sour cherry flavours.

English: Maggie Beer at the Australia Day citi...

As we have just finished the bottle I bought home, I am off to buy a second bottle. Having enjoyed one bottle, I can think of nothing better to accompany the duck dish I am wanting to cook in the not too distant future (watch this space!). For Australians, Maggie Beers Sparkling Ruby Cabernet is available at Dan Murphy Liquor Outlets and both national and internationally readers can view and purchase Maggies products through her website.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 1, 2012 in Product Review

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Product Review: Maggie Beers Sparkling Ruby Cabernet

  1. MJ

    July 2, 2012 at 10:34 am

    Loved this product too!!! Perfect for when you don’t want or can’t have alcohol and as the person usually doing the driving I can have a proper drink with my meals when going out.
    Loved the taste! Loved the fine bubbles!

     
    • Rhianna

      July 2, 2012 at 10:37 am

      So good! I just bought the duck, so now to buy another bottle of this to have with it!

       

Leave a Reply

 
