RSS

Stuffed Chicken Thigh

10 Jul

Every now and then, Joe cooks dinner. I always enjoy a night off and I adore the amount of effort he puts into his cooking. He spends days (yes, days) researching what he wants to make, watches a dozen or two youtube videos on the techniques used and makes a deal out of shopping for his ingredients. It’s like a dinner AND a show when Joe cooks.

I have asked him to blog this himself, but he is a little shy. So, I’ll do it for him. I bring you, Joes Stuffed Chicken Thighs. (I mean, he stuffed the chicken thighs. Not that he has stuffed chicken thighs…)

Joes Stuffed Chicken Thighs

[ SERVES: 4 | TIME: 60 MINUTES | COST: $15 ]
[ JOES RATING: 5 / 5 | MY RATING: 5 / 5 | BRITTANYS RATING: 5 / 5 ]

 Ingredients

4 free ranged chicken thigh fillets
1 cup breadcrumbs 
1 cup macadamia nuts, chopped coarse
1 cup dried cranberries
½ brie wheel
2 eggs
Butchers String

Method

  1. In a bowl, mix the nuts, cranberries and wedges of brie cheese.
  2. Lay the chicken fillet on a board with the smooth side down. Cut into the flesh with a sharp knife but do not cut all the way through. Push the cheese and nut mixture into the cut lines of the chicken thigh before rolling up and tying up tightly with butchers string.
  3. Beat the eggs in a bowl. In a large container, place your breadcrumbs. Egg wash the rolled fillets, ensuring it gets an even coat. Then place into the container with the breadcrumbs and shake the container gently to coat the fillet evenly. Repeat this process so the fillets are egg washed and crumbed twice.

    See how Joe has tied these thigh fillets with butchers string? This will stop them from falling apart during the cooking. Just be sure to warn your guests before they eat the string!

  4. Once they are crumbed, let them rest for 10 minutes before cooking. This allows the stuffing to bond firmly.

    Note the cracks in the crust? This is after one egg wash / crumbing. Allowing them to rest reveals the imperfections in the coating.

  5. Line a baking tray with baking paper. Arrange the fillets on the baking paper so they aren’t touching. Bake at 200°C for 40 – 50 minutes or until golden and cooked through.

Perfectly cooked stuffed thigh fillet with char grilled vegetables. What’s not to love here?

Observations

  • More Joe, more… WE WANT MORE. Seriously though, it was delicious. Joe served it with some char grilled and steamed vegetables which were just delicious.
  • I know I’ve sung the praises of free ranged chicken a lot, but this is one meal that really enhances the delicate tastes of free range chicken.
  • Joe warns that the stuffing mixture was very sticky because of the brie. Work gently and carefully to ensure it ends up all throughout the thigh.
  • Don’t like the idea of dry baking these babies? Fry them in a little butter for a tastier alternative. Just add a splash of olive oil to stop the butter from burning.
  • Diabetic Note: This is pretty good from a diabetic angle as far as carbohydrates go. Fats may be a different story, though. There are a fair amount of fats in the cheese and of course if it’s fried in butter… The healthier option is to dry bake it.
  • Ethical Note: Free Ranged Chicken – enough said.

Joe is getting better and better in the kitchen. I’d best watch myself before I lose my family cook title.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

7 responses to “Stuffed Chicken Thigh

  1. Laurel Rogers

    July 10, 2012 at 1:09 pm

    As they say, “Eat at Joe’s”. Haha! Rhianna, you’re one amazing woman and I’m glad to have found your writings here on WP.
    Take good care of yourself-and that cutie in front of the botanical gardens, of course!
    Take care and stay on your ethical course…
    Laurel

     
    • Rhianna

      July 10, 2012 at 1:19 pm

      Why thank you and welcome! What a lovely comment. Cheers for the visit.

       
  2. narf77

    July 11, 2012 at 8:00 pm

    Good on you Joe for cooking tea. Steve does it occasionally and makes the best soup known to man. He also makes more mess than any self respecting neat freak can take and so his forrays into the kitchen are somewhat limited…

     
    • Rhianna

      July 11, 2012 at 9:11 pm

      Joe is probably a lot neater in the kitchen than I am but I generally have a dozen things happening at once.

       
      • narf77

        July 12, 2012 at 6:35 am

        I SUCK at multitasking and had a brief but illustrious (a year) career as a short order cook. I spent that entire year stressed out of my brains because I was expected to do so many things at once…I am a creature of process…I start…I do…I get to the end and I start something new. Its funny because Steve can multitask but apparently can’t clean up as he goes along lol. He ends up with a literal mountain of dishes at the end of one of his culinary adventures. It still miffs me that he makes amazing spongecakes, scones, bread (even though we are working together using the very same damned recipe!) and his soup is to die for. We used to volunteer for the local Salvation Army homeless program and we cooked once a week (when we lived in Launceston) and whenever we were on the homeless would flock to the centre to get some of Steve’s chilli. I think it was his secret red wine ingredient lol! 😉

         
        • Rhianna

          July 12, 2012 at 8:07 am

          I cook with wine a lot lately. There is just something about the flavours it imparts that makes it rather special.

          I cooked all day yesterday. I did sourdough, made my bread, made pancakes for breakfast, made carrot muffins, broke down a duck, prepared the duck for three different meals including a brine, made a duck soup and made a baked coconut and banana custard. I felt like I was cooking all day long and did about ten times the dishes I used. If I didnt clean as I went, I wouldnt have gotten past one dish.

           
        • narf77

          July 12, 2012 at 7:50 pm

          That’s one thing that I was taught from when I was “knee high to a grasshopper…” “Clean up as you go along…”. It was drummed into me. I don’t think that anyone taught Steve to cook as he hasn’t got that ethos and makes a heinous mess and “someone” else has to clean it up! You are a wonder cook accomplishing all of that! I am in utter admiration of your culinary genius and will be waiting with baited breath to hear how that smoked duck went. I had to laugh on Facebook when you posted about your “smoking breasts” lol…no wonder Joe can’t keep his eyes off them! 🙂

           

Leave a Reply

 
