RSS

Road Trip: Day 3

14 Jul

It was kinda sad that our holiday was coming to an end. We were woken by the kids once again and it was fun to play with them before breakfast. I made oats with stewed fruits for breakfast, which kept us warm and full until lunchtime.

Porridge with stewed apples and cranberries

We had so many people we wanted to catch up with but time was limited. We asked all our friends to come to a big lunch get together at yum cha so we would have a chance to see everyone. It was sensational fun and great to see everyone.

Yum Cha

I’m a bad blogger… I didn’t get photos of the feast. Lets just say it was delicious and leave it at that. I introduced my friends to some of my favourite yum cha foods including mango pancakes.

After we had lunch and did a little shopping in the Asian supermarkets, it was time to say goodbye to Brisbane and start our trip home. It was pretty straight through sailing with only one stop: Ikea. I have always wanted to go to Ikea. I have heard some great things about Ikea but just had to experience it myself. Our time was limited to only one hour, so we had to move fast.

I want this walk in pantry! Look at how organised everything is? Roller shutter doors hide it when necessary.

Joe discovers a lazy susan in a corner shelf which would optimise storage. I would definitely opt for this. Joe makes notes for when he builds me my dream kitchen.

Ikea has the idea of optimising the use of available space. Splash backs have these brilliant rails which allow for hanging utensils and potted herbs. This would definitely be a feature in my dream kitchen.

I had to laugh when I saw this sign.

We were home by 8.30pm and unpacked within the hour. The washing machine and drier are running as I type (Its raining again). The household has almost been reset with only tiny tell-tale signs of the adventure we have only just completed.

I’ve had an absolute ball this weekend, and just cant wait to repeat the experience next year.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 14, 2012 in Road Trip

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Road Trip: Day 3

  1. narf77

    July 15, 2012 at 9:16 pm

    It looks like this might be an annual thing 🙂 I have never been to Ikea either and love their simplification of space and their ethos. Cheers for sharing photos 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
