RSS

Duck Soup

18 Jul

I scoured the internet to try to find something to do with duck bones. Surely there was something other than boring old stock I could use them for. I certainly wasnt going to waste them! And that is when I stumbled upon this great post on Chow that gave me a sense of direction.

Duck Soup served two ways.

[ Serves: 4 | Time: 15 Minutes | Cost: $4 ]
[ Joes Rating: 3.5 / 5 | My Rating: 3 / 5 ]

Ingredients

Bones of 1 duck
1 – 2 litres stock
1 leek, diced
1 carrot, diced
2 – 3 sticks of celery, chopped
1 orange, juiced and zested
1 cup white wine
2 tablespoons flour
2 tablespoons parsley, chopped
1½ tablespoons tomato paste
2 cloves garlic
2 bay leaves

Method

  1. Brown the bones in a large pot until they are well caramelised. Remove and reserve.

    Caramelised Duck Bones – rendering them in the pot allows you to cook the veggies in the delicious duck fat.

  2. Add the leek, celery, carrot and garlic to the pot and sauté them gently in the duck fat.

    Sauté the vegetables in the duck fat and don’t worry about the caramalisation – you will be de glazing!

  3. De-glaze the pot with the wine and cook for a few minutes until all the vegetables are tender.
  4. Add the tomato paste and flour and cook off for several minutes. Ensure the flour is cooked well – this will take about five minutes.
  5. Add the bones, stock, parsley and bay leaves and boil for about 20 minutes, removing the scum from the surface regularly.

    By this stage, it should start to smell quite fragrant.

  6. Reduce the heat and add the orange juice and rind. Simmer lightly for 40 minutes.
  7. Strain the soup through cloth to remove the vegetables and serve the broth hot or eat it whole as a heartier soup.

Observations

  • I did as the original recipe suggested and strained the soup through cloth and just served the broth for my first tasting. Joe opted to forgo the strained soup and just ate it directly from the pot. I have to admit that I actually preferred it his way. Every other mouthful was a flavour explosion as you got a bit of orange rind and you don’t waste anything by eating it all.
  • I have to admit that I cheated a little. As I was cooking it and tasting it, I could only think of brown rice to accompany it. Just before serving, I made up some brown rice and put some into the bowls before the soup / broth went in. The combination was made of win.
  • Diabetic Note: Nothing scary here, other than the fat. If you are worried about the fat, dry fry the vegetables rather than in the rendered duck fat. I did however, forgo the cream that is suggested in the original recipe for fat / calorie reasons.
  • Ethical Note: Oh how I love meals like this. There is something about utilising the whole of the bird that just tickles my fancy. On top of the fact that I used the bones, I really struggled with discarding the vegetables in the soup just for presentations sake. I had a bowl strained to taste it, but as I mentioned above, I ended up having a second bowl a la natural with rice and it was just fine!

Duck soup served two ways – a la natural and Strained Broth

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “Duck Soup

  1. narf77

    July 29, 2012 at 11:13 pm

    Amazing glossy stock there Rhianna. Steve has just finished raving about the chicken stock that we made not so long ago. We made chicken soup and he said it was the best chicken soup that he had ever tasted. I bet your duck soup was the bees knees too. There is something about producing amazing soup that is soul satisfying 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
