RSS

Banana and Coconut Cream Custard

19 Jul

I stumbled across this wonderful recipe by Real Food Forager and was very eager to try something similar. I don’t know why I waited so long, to be honest. It should now be a part of our regular diet – it was just that good!

Silky, creamy and smooth – a perfect dessert.

[ Serves: 4 – 6 | Time: 30 Minutes | Cost: $4 ]
[ Joes Rating: 4.5 / 5 | My Rating: 5 / 5 ]

Ingredients

2 ripe bananas – puréed
1 can coconut cream – well incorporated ¹
4 free ranged eggs
2 tablespoons agave ²
2 teaspoon vanilla essence
1 teaspoon stevia

Method

  1. Mash and purée the banana in a blender until it is smooth and creamy.
  2. Add the remaining ingredients and mix until well aerated.
  3. Pour the mixture into a tart tray and bake at 180°C for 30 minutes.
  4. Serve hot or cold ³.

Creamy and delicious.

Observations

  • Note 1: The original recipe called for coconut milk and gave instructions on how to convert coconut cream into coconut milk. I opted to just use a tin of coconut cream and the results were delicious. If your coconut cream is solid in the tin, warm it until it melts and becomes incorporated.
  • Note 2: The original recipe uses four tablespoons of honey, however, I was concerned about the glucose content. I’ve altered it to be half agave and a little stevia to make up the sweetness required. The dish didn’t suffer for the substitutes. If you don’t have agave, you can use sugar, honey or just stevia as desired.
  • Note 3: The original recommended refrigerating the custard and serving it cold. We had some hot to taste test it (for research, I assure you!) and found it was moist and not all that appealing. When we set it in the fridge, the moisture seems to disappear and the texture and taste strengthens. Although it can be eaten hot, it is our opinion that served chilled is the only way to enjoy it.
  • Diabetic Note: There is always something about bananas that sets my blood glucose levels screaming. This dish, however, even when served with some low GI ice cream (Bulla lite brand) was ok. Watch the fat content of your coconut cream (I use a lite variety), the sugars (see note 2) and serving size as there is plenty of sugar in the bananas.
  • Ethical Note: These bananas were well past their prime and were due for the compost heap. Even so, they were perfect in this dish.

Served chilled with low Gi Ice Cream – a diabetics dreams come true.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Banana and Coconut Cream Custard

  1. Three Well Beings

    July 20, 2012 at 2:30 am

    Oh yum, Rhianna! I have found that some people don’t like the consistency of custard, but I just love it! And it’s funny that I never make it…I don’t think of it! I know I’ll make this soon. It sounds refreshing in our current summer heat! D

     
    • Rhianna

      July 20, 2012 at 6:45 am

      I am so jealous of your warmth, Debra. Its so cold here.

      It really is quite special. I will make it every time I have old overripe bananas now.

       
  2. narf77

    July 29, 2012 at 11:15 pm

    That looks amazing! I don’t eat eggs…I wonder if I could mess about with tapioca flour to achieve a similar effect?

     
    • Rhianna

      July 30, 2012 at 7:49 am

      I am not sure. I know that flax meal and water gives a similar effect to eggs and works as a vegan egg substitute. Give it a go. Let me know how it works out. I have a friend who is looking for a vegan dessert for a guest of hers.

       
      • narf77

        July 30, 2012 at 5:57 pm

        This chocolate cake doesn’t look too bad…I would use the cake bit from this recipe and would splodge it in a small greased baking dish then mix 3/4 of a cup of brown sugar with 2 tbs cocoa and sprinkle it over the cake mix and then pour over 2 cups of boiling water, put into a 180C oven and bake for 35 – 40 mins till it bounces back when you touch the top gently. Delicious! Make custard with custard powder and soy milk and you are there. Simple but delicious 🙂

         

Leave a Reply

 
