RSS

Roast Duck with Cherry and Ginger Glaze

20 Jul

And so it has come – the last of my duck experimentation recipes.

I have to admit to glancing at a recipe in a book store by Maggie Beer that has inspired this creation. I remember it used a cherry jam with some fresh ginger as the glaze and suggested some preparation ideas that were a little unusual to me. Never the less, I committed those few things to memory and have created this dish with those things in mind.

Roast Duck with Cherry and Ginger Glaze

[ Serves: 4 – 6 | Time: 30 Minutes | Cost: $4 ]
[ Joes Rating: 4 / 5 | My Rating: 4 / 5 ]

Ingredients

½ duck – I used the thigh / leg pieces
¼ – ½ cup cherry jam
1 teaspoon ginger

Method

  1. Mix the jam and ginger together. Apply heat if necessary to make it thin and well incorporated.
  2. Trim the excess fat and skin from the sides of the cut of duck.
  3. Lay the pieces on a wire rack in a sink and pour boiling water over the flesh. It should contract however, the pores in the skin will open to allow the marinade to sink right into the flesh.
  4. Transfer the pieces to a bowl and pour over about half of the jam mixture, rubbing it well into the skin.

    Notice the tightness in the flesh after the hot water has been used to open the pores?

  5. Bake the duck on a wire rack at 180°C until cooked. My pieces took roughly 30 minutes. Pour half of the retained glaze mixture about half way through the cooking process
  6. Rest for 10 minutes, covered with aluminium foil.
  7. Pour the remaining glaze mixture over the meat and serve while hot.

Hot sticky and crispy skin is a diabetics dilemma.

Observations

  • Be sparing with how much hot water you apply to open the pores in the skin. You don’t want that flesh to retract too much. It takes too long to relax again. The pores will visibly open though, so watch closely.
  • By baking the duck on a wire rack, you allow for the fats to run off rather than being absorbed into the meat. Its a healthier option for you. 
  • Ensure that you rest the duck before serving it. It will need it to relax or it will be tough.
  • I have to admit that I over cooked the duck by about 5 minutes. Watch the texture of the meat and try not to over cook it.
  • Diabetic Note: Like all jams, the cherry jam has a fair amount of sugar in it. I didn’t pour anywhere near as much jam on my piece. Go lightly with the jam and it will be a wonderful choice just the same.
  • Ethical Note: This is the last of my three dishes from one duck bird. I have to say, I am kinda thrilled at what I got off this one bird. It fed us three satisfying meals and the entire bird was utilised.

I served the duck with crispy baked vegetables and steamed greens.

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Roast Duck with Cherry and Ginger Glaze

  1. narf77

    July 29, 2012 at 11:16 pm

    Although I don’t eat duck, those roasted potatoes look more than fantastic and would be my mains lol 😉

     
    • Rhianna

      July 30, 2012 at 7:49 am

      It was pretty tasty 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
