RSS

Chicken, Chickpea and Pumpkin Middle Eastern inspired Curry

23 Jul

I can’t lay claim to having created this dish, as the original came from the Women’s Day fame.

Chicken, Chickpea and Pumpkin Curry

[ Serves: 4 | Time: 60 Minutes | Cost: $8 ]
[ Brittanys Rating: 4.5 / 5 | My Rating: 4.5 / 5 ]

Ingredients

1 small chicken, broken down into pieces (about 1kg worth)
3 cups pumpkin, peeled, seeded and cut into cubes
1 onion, diced
1 can tomatoes
1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
2 cloves garlic
1½ teaspoons cumin
½ teaspoon ginger
½ teaspoon cinnamon
drizzle of olive oil
salt and pepper to taste
toasted almond slivers for garnish

Spices

Method

  1. In a large saute pan, fry the onions in a little oil until translucent. Add the spices and garlic and cook until fragrant – about 30 seconds or so.
  2. Add the tomatoes to the pan and mix well. Add the chicken and chick peas and ensure they are coated in the mixture. Cook over a moderate heat with the lid on until the chicken is tender; about 15 minutes.

    Submerge the chicken in the sauce.

  3. Add the pumpkin and stir to mix everything well. Cook with the lid on until the pumpkin and chicken are cooked through. This may take another 20 or so minutes.

    Adding the pumpkin

  4. Garnish with toasted almonds and serve hot, with or without rice.

Observations

  • I adored the bold flavours of this dish. I am so used to Asian style curries that every now and then I will try a middle eastern curry and be blown away. The pumpkin is a winner in this dish and I think it won over Brittany too!
  • Brittany and I both adored the crunch of the nuts in the garnish. So much so that we ended up including a lot more than is strictly required for a garnish.
  • The sauce thickened up too much for me on a few occasions and I added a splash of water to it to keep it at the right consistency.

    when the sauce has reduced too much, add some water.

  • I used a whole size 10 chicken in this recipe. I broke it down into pieces and removed the skin from the larger pieces. This reduces the fat content and makes it a healthier meal without losing on taste.
  • Diabetic Note: There are about 15 grams of carbohydrates in the pumpkin but the rice, as always is a killer. There are around 45 grams of carbohydrates per 150 grams (about half a cup) of cooked rice. Watch your serving sizes to stay out of trouble.
  • Ethical Note: I won this chicken in a raffle and instead of roasting it, I broke it down to use it in this meal. I reserved the bones to make my own chicken stock. Sustainability sometimes requires thinking outside the box.
 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Chicken, Chickpea and Pumpkin Middle Eastern inspired Curry

  1. narf77

    July 29, 2012 at 11:22 pm

    That looks really tasty. I think I might make this soon as I have an abundance of fresh pumpkin at the moment and this looks like a great way to use some, Cheers! 🙂

     
    • Rhianna

      July 30, 2012 at 7:53 am

      I really love chickpeas and to be honest, leaving the meat out of this dish and converting it to a vegetarian option would not be a disaster. You wouldn’t lose on anything, and it is worth the effort.

       
      • narf77

        July 30, 2012 at 6:00 pm

        I love chickpeas as well (especially in their most tasty of forms…falafel AND humus). We use a lot of Indian recipes as its a great way to integrate both veggies and meat into things and I get to eat the dhal, rice and veggie curry and we just cook a small meat curry for Steve and he can have everything else. No-one feels left out 🙂 Same goes for Chinese.

         
        • Rhianna

          July 30, 2012 at 6:08 pm

          Is it difficult to remain strict vegan with a meat eater in the house? I’ve often wondered.

           

Leave a Reply

 
