RSS

Product Review: Celestial Seasonings Fruit Tea Sampler

24 Jul

When I was pregnant, the thought of drinking water repulsed me. I craved flavours, generally sweet and fruity. When I stumbled across Celestial Seasonings Fruit Tea Sampler, it was as if my prayers had been answered. This caffeine free, natural herbal tea was exactly what the doctor ordered and today, three years later, I still enjoying them as a secret daily obsession.

Freshness sealed

The sampler box contains 5 flavours; Raspberry Zinger, Country Peach Passion, Wild Berry Zinger, True Blueberry and Black Cherry Berry. Each sample is enclosed in their own freshness packet and the number of bags per flavour varies; 4 tea bags each for blueberry, wild berry and cherry while there are 3 bags for peach and raspberry.

Stall at the Sydney Good Food and Wine Festival (Photo: Celestial Seasonings.)

While I was at the Sydney Good Food and Wine Festival a few weeks ago, I had the pleasure of meeting Shannon, the Ambassador for Celestial. We had a lovely chit-chat, and I confided in her how much I adore the Fruit Tea Sampler. Black Cherry, predictably, is my utter favourite!

So, I decided to share with you guys how I make and enjoy this heavenly fruit iced tea.

  1. In a 2 litre jug, I add two teabags and about 1 litre of hot water. To this I add 2 – 3 stevia tablets (the equivalence of 3 teaspoons of sugar). Allow to steep for 10 minutes before topping up with cool water to make up 2 litres.
  2. Store in the fridge until ice-cold and enjoy over ice for a fruity iced tea treat!

Allow the tea time to infuse for a stronger flavour. This is a Wild Berry infusion!

Observations

  • When I was pregnant, I would pour some of the chilled fruit tea into icy pole moulds for a frozen iced treat that was perfectly guilt free!
  • Being caffeine free, this is a perfect tea substitute for pregnant women, and is really divine during summer to beat the heat.
  • During summer, I can drink 2 litres a day and never get bored with the flavour. Its fresh, fruity flavour is light and refreshing.
  • Celestial Seasonings have quite an extensive range of teas, all natural. The Lemon Zinger is refreshing and Tension Tamer is a must have for study periods. I can also recommend Sleepy Time (Vanilla) as being just what the doctor ordered before bed. And finally, peppermint tea – ahh peppermint, my winter staple!
  • The benefits of using stevia are well documented throughout medical literature. It is suggested that diabetics and people suffering obesity or high blood pressure would benefit from substituting stevia in place of sugar. It is a low carbohydrate sugar substitute that has zero effect on your blood glucose levels.

Peach would be a favourite in anyone’s language!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 24, 2012 in Product Review

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Product Review: Celestial Seasonings Fruit Tea Sampler

  1. recipeshappen

    July 26, 2012 at 5:12 am

    I just blogged about iced tea, and then decided to look for other bloggers talking about it. I love all those teas. 🙂

    Bonnie
    http://www.recipeshappen.com
    http://www.facebook.com/recipeshappen

     
    • Rhianna

      July 26, 2012 at 9:49 am

      These are absolutely delicious teas. I’ve been using them for years now and cant recommend them enough. Best of all – no nasty stuff hidden in the fine print for these ones 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
