RSS

Cupboard Cleanup

09 Aug

How much space can be saved when a system is put into place?

I have been going crazy with cluttered cupboards. My problem is that I use too many different types of pulses and herbs. My cupboards are literally bulging at the seams with half empty packets and boxes. It was time to find a better system and I went with Décore as I’ve used them for years.

Before and after decore

The major benefit for me is that I can stop purchasing legume, dried fruits and herbs by the packet in the supermarket. We have a sensational shop nearby that allows you to purchase food stuff in bulk. You just take your container into Pacific Bulk Foods and fill it up directly. Despite the cost saving, purchasing like this in bulk reduces the amount of waste packaging needed. Win-win!

 
 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “Cupboard Cleanup

  1. scrapydo

    August 9, 2012 at 10:00 am

    Good on you.

     
    • Rhianna

      August 10, 2012 at 7:46 am

      Cheers. Its so much better 🙂

       
  2. Three Well Beings

    August 10, 2012 at 7:24 am

    Good solution! I can buy many things in bulk, but we can’t bring our own containers in. And I tend to get all the little baggies home and never quite get around to transferring the contents! You’ve inspired me. My cupboards would serve as a cautionary tale if I ever posted a photo! 🙂 Debra

     
    • Rhianna

      August 10, 2012 at 7:48 am

      It was seriously driving me insane. So many packets. Problem is that I use them all, a lot. We have another cupboard which I have nick-named “the cellar” which stores all the bulky items and stuff that I don’t use very often. Its hopefully a better system – it feels like it 🙂

       
  3. narf77

    August 10, 2012 at 10:40 pm

    A great idea. I keep having to find new and highly inventive ways to recycle, repurpose and reuse my plastic waste. I should really just buy in bulk whenever I can. We don’t have the shopping opportunities that you guys get on the mainland and pretty much are slaves to supermarkets and the occasional health food shop but we buy whenever we can out of packets or in paper bags or packs. You have a very neat setup there Rhianna…I must admit you wouldn’t want to see in my pantry! 😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
