RSS

Pesto – home made yummies!

11 May

While I was at the organic farmer markets recently, I spied a bunch of basil for just two dollars. I have to admit right up front that Joe and I are not fans (generally) of pesto, but I decided to try to make my own. My idea was to bypass all the mass-produced nasties, and hopefully deliver something that is fresh and wholesome that would capture our attention. There is something about the process of home making food that wins the day. This is an example.

[  SERVES: 3  |  TIME: 25 MIN  |  COST: <$3  ]
[  JOES’ RATING: 4.5 / 5  |  MY RATING: 4.5 / 5 ]

Ingredients

2 cups of basil leaves
¼ cup pine nuts
¼ cup grated Pecorino
¼ cup olive oil
juice of one lime
4 cloves garlic, minced

Method

  1. In a blender, combine the oil, garlic and juice and blend well.
  2. Add all other ingredients and shred finely using the pulse setting on your blender.
  3. Serve with crackers, over hot pasta or with steamed vegetables.
Basil leaves (Ocimum basilicum).

Basil leaves. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Observations

  • This was SOOOOOO good. We both really loved it and were amazed how unlike the commercially produced crap this is. Quality fresh produce wins the day once again.
  • If you do not have some quality Pecorino or Romano, use a freshly grated Parmesan Cheese.
  • Diabetic Note: Small serve, Rhianna – that is one carb heavy meal there.
  • Ethical Note: The cheese and basil were all locally produced and grown. YAY /
 

Tags: , , , ,

11 responses to “Pesto – home made yummies!

  1. Anonymous

    May 11, 2012 at 9:29 am

    That looks delicious, im off the fruit and veg markets tomorrow so am going to look out for some basil I think! I have some basil seeds from Nanu’s garden so Ruby and I are going to try and grow some so this pesto recipe might become a bit of staple.

     
    • Rhianna

      May 11, 2012 at 12:10 pm

      Its really yummy, Lin. You will love it too, I’m sure.

       
  2. debbrunson

    May 11, 2012 at 1:18 pm

    This was a win, win, win! Farmers Market score, even local cheese, and now you are both pesto converts 🙂 And it looks like you’ve already motivated someone else to buy some local basil and give it a try as well… SWEET work :D!!

     
    • Rhianna

      May 11, 2012 at 2:27 pm

      Aint it though! Got another bunch this week 🙂 That’s three weeks in a row and I’m dreading the end of the basil season in the next week or two now.

       
  3. Three Well Beings

    May 11, 2012 at 3:05 pm

    I really do like pesto…and this is a lovely recipe. The lime is a very nice touch 🙂 Debra

     
    • Rhianna

      May 11, 2012 at 5:24 pm

      Its gorgeous! Cheers, Debra!

       
  4. narf77

    May 12, 2012 at 1:06 pm

    I just met 2 people who have moved here (Tasmania) from Byron Bay. They are certainly going to know what cold is! Back to the pesto…I LOVE pesto when it is home made. When it is mass produced it tastes disgusting. Something about using the cheapest ingredients makes your tastebuds rebel! Your pesto looks scrumptious Rhianna and I am drooling thinking about pesto…no basil here at the moment…only apples (I don’t like apples)

     
    • Rhianna

      May 12, 2012 at 1:39 pm

      nom nom pesto! Although my diabetes hates the pasta, it makes my taste buds dance.

      Side comment: pesto and steamed vegetables are made of winning.

       
      • narf77

        May 12, 2012 at 1:47 pm

        I am drooling on my keyboard 😦 Now I have to hope that drool isn’t like hot chocolate…tea…coffee etc. and renders keyboards dead…sigh… are you able to have that rice pasta in the pretty colours? I think it has vegetable puree in it? It would suck to have diabetes. I think we should all learn more about diabetes to be honest as its on the increase. You are doing a really good service to those of us who know very little about it with your little notes at the bottom of your recipes. Its great to read them and very enlightening. Keep up the fantastic work. Your food looks so scrumptious I am going to have to buy a water (drool) proof keyboard…

         
  5. wcs53

    May 14, 2012 at 7:38 am

    I really like the idea of home-made pesto. This looks like an easy enough recipe to try, so I might give it a whirl soon. Thanks for sharing this.

     
    • Rhianna

      May 14, 2012 at 12:22 pm

      Its easy peasy and really delicious. If you live in Australia, try it soon because the basil season is almost at an end! Id love to know what you think, so don’t forget to leave some feedback 🙂

       

Leave a comment