RSS

Baked Apple and Custard Tarts

21 May

While I was making the Quiche Lorraine yesterday, I had a tiny bit of pastry left over for the crust. I decided to try something VERY out of my element.

[  Makes: 6  |  TIME: 30 MIN  |  COST: $4  ]
[  JOES’ RATING: 4  / 5  |  MY RATING: 4  / 5 ]

Ingredients

Filling: Inspired from Essential Kids

1 apple
2 free ranged eggs
2 free ranged egg yolks (in addition to the above)
¼ cup soy milk
¼ cup sugar substitute (or sugar)
sprinkle of nutmeg for garnish

Crust: recipe from Richard Packham

1 2/3 cup white flour
2/3 cup butter
½ cup sourdough starter
½ teaspoon salt
¼ teaspoon baking soda

Method

  1. To prepare the crust, sift flour, salt and baking soda together. Cut in the butter until it resembles coarse crumbs. Stir in 1/2 cup fresh starter, just until all ingredients are moistened. Add a few drops water if too dry, a spoonful more flour if to moist. Cover or wrap and let stand 30 – 60 minutes.
  2. Roll out the pie crust on a floured surface, turning the dough a ¼ each roll to form a circle. Carefully press it into a greased muffin tins. Place some baking paper carefully onto the pastry and half fill it with dried split peas, heavy dried beans or coffee beans. Bake in a preheated oven (200°C) for 10 minutes. Remove the beans and baking paper and bake for a further 10 minutes until golden.
  3. Peel the apple and slice into thinnish wedges. Add to a saucepan with enough water to just cover it and cook for a few minutes, until tender. Allow to cool.
  4. Whisk the eggs, milk and sugar together until light and fluffy.
  5. Place a few cooled apple pieces to the bottom of each muffin and pour in the egg mixture. Top with a sprinkle of nutmeg for garnish.
  6. Bake at 160°C for 40 – 55 minutes. Check regularly by inserting the tip of a knife into the tart. It is ready when the knife comes out clean.
  7. Allow to cool slightly and serve with *whisper* ice cream

Observation

  • I over cooked mine ever so slightly resulting in a slightly dry tart. Mine was ready in about 40 minutes so take care.
  • Simple recipe, delicious results.
  • Diabetic Note: Ice cream? What are you talking about?! I don’t eat that – its bad for diabetics…
  • Ethical Note: I made this simply to use up the left over dough from the quick, and I am glad I did. No waste = win!
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

13 responses to “Baked Apple and Custard Tarts

  1. narf7

    May 21, 2012 at 7:43 pm

    Wow! They look a whole lot like Portuguese custard tarts! (only better! 😉 ) you are going to have to write that cookbook now! How else will all of those poor people out there who haven’t stumbled on your blog yet know what is possible with their leftover sourdough starter? Love the look of these babies Rhianna!

     
    • Rhianna

      May 21, 2012 at 7:45 pm

      They were pretty delicious and I have to admit Ive never made anything like it before. I did over cook it ever so slightly which caused it to dry out a little. At the end of the day, nothing ventured nothing gained and I was happy with the results 😉

      Cheers for the blog love, Fran

       
  2. Three Well Beings

    May 22, 2012 at 2:49 pm

    I love a good custard. This sounds really good. My crusts aren’t too successful, but I can try 🙂 Debra

     
    • Rhianna

      May 22, 2012 at 3:10 pm

      If you have sourdough, give this method a try. I’ve done it a few times now with great success. Its not a sweet shortcrust, so if you are after sweetness, add some sugar.

       
      • Three Well Beings

        May 22, 2012 at 3:18 pm

        So funny…I bought some of those little plastic caps today to put on bowls? You talked about them…and I thought I’d make your sour dough starter. Thanks for the suggestion!

         
        • Rhianna

          May 22, 2012 at 4:13 pm

          Ohhh that sounds so exciting! Im excited for other people to play around with this and be creative too. Word of advice – for the first few days, throw away the excess starter. Don’t use it until its reliably doubling in size between feeds 😉

          Also, those little plastic bowl covers are a god send for this sort of stuff. I tend to put holes in them often so I need to replace one every other week. Luckily a packet of six is like $2 up the road.

          You will have to let me know your results. I am really keen to see how other people go 🙂

           
  3. silviascucina

    May 24, 2012 at 7:30 pm

    The photo of those tarts is sending me delirious!

     
    • Rhianna

      May 24, 2012 at 9:54 pm

      They were pretty good 🙂

       

Leave a comment